Login

Cuda

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Cuda

Postby Mercado_Negro » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:17 pm

I think my GT 520 isn't that good for Cuda. I could barely play 3 tracks running Nextaz' VNXT using Cuda while I could run 10 native. Well, the good news is it is working :D
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Postby giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:21 pm

well, I tested on a quadro fx5800 which was expensive but very good 4 years ago. It features 250 cuda processors and you open many. We just assembled a powerful server featuring liquid cooling, latest 6 cores intel and a 780 titan black, which features 2800 cuda processors. You need something balanced
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9195
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Postby giancarlo » Sat Apr 12, 2014 11:23 pm

your card has 'only' 48 cores. 48 vs 2880 , you have 50x less
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9195
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Postby Mercado_Negro » Sun Apr 13, 2014 12:01 am

giancarlo wrote:your card has 'only' 48 cores. 48 vs 2880 , you have 50x less


Yep, I read that earlier on Nvidia site. Those 48 cores aren't helping much, that's why I understood it wasn't gonna do wonders for me but since we're testing stuff I thought I'd give it a try :)
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Postby vicnestE » Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:40 am

giancarlo wrote:copy the 64 bits dll in system32 or the 32 bits dll in syswow64. In a 32 bits windows copy it in system32. Check using the provided testcuda.exe. About cuda follow nvidia links and drivers. In nebula select mode freqd, the highest one if it works. Load a reverb. Configure a nebula for reverbs and cuda, for example in nebula setups


What OPT TIMED mode should I select if I want to run TIMED nebula in Cuda??

Freqed mode works for me in x64 Cuda 6.0.

GeFroce GTX 760 2GDDR5 (my prediction on nebula cuda improvements finally pay off??)
User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Cuda

Postby vicnestE » Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:37 am

OPT FREQD: 15CUDA ac 2Mono
Running 14 instances of MFC, while my CPU version could still handle them under DSPBUFFER8192.
The CUDA version start to stagger regularly (just like a project run out of realtime CPU) at DSPBUFFER8192. Should I set it lower??

I am only sure the GPU is used since the fan speed is rising. However the GPU usage is only slightly raised from 55 to 59 at the staggering point.

However the response speed after hitting play/stop is a lot quicker if I remember the slow playback response on Cuda 4.0 version correctly.
User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

Re: Cuda

Postby Mercado_Negro » Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:56 am

vicnestE wrote:OPT FREQD: 15CUDA ac 2Mono
Running 14 instances of MFC, while my CPU version could still handle them under DSPBUFFER8192.
The CUDA version start to stagger regularly (just like a project run out of realtime CPU) at DSPBUFFER8192. Should I set it lower??

I am only sure the GPU is used since the fan speed is rising. However the GPU usage is only slightly raised from 55 to 59 at the staggering point.

However the response speed after hitting play/stop is a lot quicker if I remember the slow playback response on Cuda 4.0 version correctly.


IIRC Cuda is better on stuff like reverbs and long kernels stuff. It doesn't improve anything on consoles, eqs, etc.
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Cuda

Postby giancarlo » Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:23 am

yes you need to tune consoles in order to take advantage. Cuda6 is really fast
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9195
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Postby giancarlo » Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:24 am

use for reverbs. The advantage is big there
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9195
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Cuda

Postby vicnestE » Mon Apr 14, 2014 7:42 am

giancarlo wrote:yes you need to tune consoles in order to take advantage. Cuda6 is really fast

How to tune "console" programs for Cuda?
Or am I misreading?
User avatar
vicnestE
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 740
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:11 am

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests