Login

NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby davinci » Sat Apr 05, 2014 9:04 pm

Hi! I need some help to configure a nebula server .. one of my biggest problems is connecting two pc's via lan ... so, i think this is why i cant run nebula on other computer .. So, please help me !! :cry:
davinci
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2014 8:59 pm

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby Antonello » Sun Apr 06, 2014 7:08 pm

davinci wrote:Hi! I need some help to configure a nebula server .. one of my biggest problems is connecting two pc's via lan ... so, i think this is why i cant run nebula on other computer .. So, please help me !! :cry:


Hi,
can you report the Nebula Server version?
User avatar
Antonello
God Administrator
God Administrator
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2012 10:05 pm
Location: Italy

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby Support » Mon Apr 07, 2014 8:34 pm

davinci wrote:Hi! I need some help to configure a nebula server .. one of my biggest problems is connecting two pc's via lan ... so, i think this is why i cant run nebula on other computer .. So, please help me !! :cry:


Nebula F.A.Q.
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=396

Q.5.23 I want to use Nebula3 Server in a LAN. Can you explain me how to setup it?
1. Install Nebula Server in "remote" server computer. (use Nebula3 Server installation package)
2. Install emulation preset in the remote server computer, server is not compatible with alternativedatapath.
3. Install Nebula3 Server installation package in "client" local computer.
4. Setup client "local" computer .XML MAST page file and add PORT and IP address tag parameters. IP address should be the correct one from the "remote" server computer, use PING to check it, avoid firewalls.
5. Run Nebula Server in "remote" server computer.
6. Run Nebula3 Pro Server in "client" local computer in your sequencer. If Nebula Server is found your Nebula3 Pro Server instance will call Nebula Client and will request Nebula Server to load emulation preset in "remote" server computer instead of load locally.

In Nebula > DISK > Server you can see if Nebula Client can see a Nebula Server. N/A means NO Nebula Server.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby Hannes_F » Mon Apr 21, 2014 11:46 pm

Excuse me if this is a stupid question but if I have two computers and

No. 1 is the one that hosts my project but has too much workload

so that I want to load off work to

No. 2 which is crunching numbers (effects) for No. 1

Which is remote and which is client in your terminology?

Thank you
Hannes
User avatar
Hannes_F
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:08 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby Hannes_F » Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:11 am

and ... could you please be so good and explain this:

4. Setup client "local" computer .XML MAST page file and add PORT and IP address tag parameters.

Is this
- about an .xml file? Which one?
- if so, where am I supposed to insert the adress?
- or is it about the MAST page in Nebula?
- or in Nebula reverb?
- can't find Port or IP adress there either
- or is it about something else?

I must say that considering the cost of Nebula server the documentation is quite ... minimalistic. If you could help that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Hannes
User avatar
Hannes_F
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:08 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby giancarlo » Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:30 am

server is supposed to be used in local mode (without a server app at all!)
This justify the whole price- ram sharing
Nebula server opens an hidden server and shares ram. It goes even faster. This is what you pay for, really.

Anyway it works also through lan, and it works, but documentation at the moment is poor, correct. The same feature is available in nebula free.
Nebula free is a server bundle, you can demo it easily before buying.


You need also to be good with lan setting, this kind of support is beyond our mission. If you really need support you could try submitting a ticket. We suppose lan configuration, firewalls, everything is correct, you need just to type an address somewhere. Support will direct to quick/dirty forum threads.

I think we'll enable a consulting team specifically for supporting lan/server settings, but our price as consultants is pretty high at the moment, I'm not sure it would be a great idea. It is around 50 eur/hour actually (other similar jobs we are doing as acustica). We'll think about it. If you need us there there is an higher cost too. Just make a request, we could set up this kind of service

At the moment we offer ticketing system and forum, both free
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9182
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby Hannes_F » Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:36 am

I think I could find the answer to the last question. It could be written like this:

"In the library directory (for example

c:\nebulatempdepository\

you will find a subdirectory called

c:\nebulatempdepository\Server\

In this directory there is a file called
NebulaServerWin64.xml or alternatively
NebulaServer.xml

Please open it with a text file editor (e.g. Notepad) and search for the <MASTER> section. In it there will be the entries
<SERVERPORT> 6000 </SERVERPORT>
<SERVERADDRESS> . </SERVERADDRESS>

Enter the values for your remote server, for example
<SERVERPORT> 6000 </SERVERPORT>
<SERVERADDRESS> 192.168.2.107 </SERVERADDRESS>

In order to obtain the server adress you can use the ping command. For that you press the Start button on Windows systems and enter this command into the command line:

cmd.exe

As a result a DOS window will pop up where you can enter the following command:

ping Remotecomputername
where Remotecomputername is a placeholder for the actual name of the computer in the network. For example since my computer is called 'W520-Hannes' I use
ping W520-Hannes

and get this as the result:
Answer from 192.168.2.107 Bytes=32 ... etc.
Here the number 192.168.2.107 is the correct remote computer adress in the network and therefore needs to be entered into the NebulaServerWin64.xml / NebulaServer.xml on the client computer.

Grrrrrr ....
User avatar
Hannes_F
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:08 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby giancarlo » Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:38 am

yes we could improve documentation using your words... enrique?
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9182
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby Hannes_F » Tue Apr 22, 2014 12:42 am

giancarlo wrote:server is supposed to be used in local mode (without a server app at all!)
This justify the whole price- ram sharing
Nebula server opens an hidden server and shares ram. It goes even faster. This is what you pay for, really.


I have plenty of RAM but not enough CPU.
User avatar
Hannes_F
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Apr 18, 2010 12:08 pm
Location: Hannover, Germany

Re: NEBULA 3 SERVER BUNDLE , I NEED HELP!!

Postby Support » Tue Apr 22, 2014 8:34 am

Hannes_F wrote:and ... could you please be so good and explain this:

4. Setup client "local" computer .XML MAST page file and add PORT and IP address tag parameters.

Is this
- about an .xml file? Which one?
- if so, where am I supposed to insert the adress?
- or is it about the MAST page in Nebula?
- or in Nebula reverb?
- can't find Port or IP adress there either
- or is it about something else?

I must say that considering the cost of Nebula server the documentation is quite ... minimalistic. If you could help that would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Hannes


Hello Hannes.

- about an .xml file? Which one?


Nebula3 Reverb .XML file.
NOTE: in VST format you can change the name of your .DLL(s) files.
NOTE: Non Reverb .DLL and Reverb .DLL are equal, the differences are in the .XML files.

- if so, where am I supposed to insert the adress?


Read again point 4. About MAST page and tags. Go Board index > Nebula > FAQs > MAST page F.A.Q. (viewtopic.php?f=36&t=558) and read it.

- or is it about the MAST page in Nebula?


Read again point 4. Says "client "local" computer"

- or in Nebula reverb?


Yes. In Nebula Reverb.

- can't find Port or IP adress there either


Add it manually or copy/past from MAST page F.A.Q. (viewtopic.php?f=36&t=558)

- or is it about something else?


No more else.
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2884
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests