Login

rate cnv help

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

rate cnv help

Postby scopus » Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:32 am

hi i just noticed that on one of my reverbs (emt140)
the reverb was sounding way more washed out than usual and was set at 4500cnv. Than rembered before i upgraded it was at 9000, which fixed it to sound right.. so got me worried about my settings for other programs,
should all reverbs be at 9000?

also is it just reverbs that i need to worry about needing to be high, regular programs all ok around 4500?

im in 44.1 btw

thanks
scopus
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:37 pm

Re: rate cnv help

Postby mathias » Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:46 am

it is all programs with long kernels, that need a high setting for rateconvert.

as 4500 ms is already a high setting, this only affects reverbs or delays or similar, that have tails, that go longer than that.

just keep it at 9000 and check after updating (which is always a good thing, as settings may be reset).

best,
mathias
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: rate cnv help

Postby scopus » Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:52 am

so keep my reverb version at 9000 and regular at 4500, thanks mathias :)
scopus
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:37 pm

Re: rate cnv help

Postby jorismak » Sat Mar 08, 2014 1:54 am

I think there is nothing wrong with setting it at 9000 for everything.

It specifies the maximum length of vector data that will be converted (I believe, please correct me).

So it affects loading time (when the resampling takes place). But for quality, I think you can always leave it maxed out to be sure samplerate conversion always works.
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: rate cnv help

Postby giancarlo » Sat Mar 08, 2014 9:27 am

yes: maximum setting means "you should convert in any case". Otherwise a conversion could be skipped sometimes.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: rate cnv help

Postby ngarjuna » Sat Mar 08, 2014 3:26 pm

giancarlo wrote:yes: maximum setting means "you should convert in any case". Otherwise a conversion could be skipped sometimes.

I know I've asked this before but I don't recall the reason: why wouldn't the maximum you describe above be the default setting? Why would you by default want there to be conversions that could be skipped sometimes?
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: rate cnv help

Postby dagovitsj » Sat Mar 08, 2014 4:53 pm

@ ngarjuna: If I recall correctly, the free preset of VNXT 140 will be converted OK with settings like 4500. But if you purchase the library, there are some longer presets, up to 5 seconds. I think I got some problems with the 4500 settings when I tried to load those, and increasing it to 9000 the problem was gone. I think it's mentioned/explained in the pdf of VNXT library?

But I have not quite understood why it's not defaulted to 9000. AFAIK the setting is not making my system slower, libraries that don't have to use 9000 to convert, are not taking longer to load, I think. The setting is only setting a kind of range, so that those libs who need longer time to convert will have that. But it's long time since I read those pdf's - I just set it to 9000 and it worked ;)

Do you have any other experience?
|Win 7-64bit | Reaper 4. x64, Cubase 6.5.3., 64 & 32 bit | RAM:16 GB | CPU: Intel Core i5 760@ 2,8 GHz | Samsung SSD 830 (256 GB) | WD: Black harddisks | Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT Graphics Accelerator | Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD4 |Nebula 3 Pro |
dagovitsj
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 498
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:25 pm

Re: rate cnv help

Postby Support » Mon Mar 10, 2014 11:05 am

But I have not quite understood why it's not defaulted to 9000.


Compatibility with old/slow CPU(s)
Best regards,
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support
http://www.acustica-audio.com
User avatar
Support
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2885
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:33 am
Location: Lodi, Lombardia, Italy.

Re: rate cnv help

Postby ngarjuna » Mon Mar 10, 2014 2:22 pm

Support wrote:
But I have not quite understood why it's not defaulted to 9000.


Compatibility with old/slow CPU(s)

From many past discussions we've been told that RATE_CNV only affects sample rate conversions, nothing else; so on that basis I still don't understand how the current default is an advantage. Why would a slightly faster loading sample rate conversion be more important than making sure that every single program in every single library converted correctly every single time you instantiated?
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: rate cnv help

Postby giancarlo » Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:00 pm

because on slow computers you could wait a minute for loading a preset.
This parameter was tuned on a dual core, which is our minimum requirement
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests