Login

upgrading Server

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

upgrading Server

Postby dream » Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:52 pm

Silly question guys, sorry:

If I want to upgrade the Nebula Server should I upgrade Nebula Pro too?
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Re: upgrading Server

Postby mathias » Tue Mar 04, 2014 8:55 pm

do you have both installed??
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2114
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: upgrading Server

Postby dream » Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:11 pm

Yes, I do. :)
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Re: upgrading Server

Postby dream » Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:06 pm

Ok, I did upgrade both. :)
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Re: upgrading Server

Postby mathias » Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:28 pm

my understanding is, when the server application is not running, the nebula server dll is acting like a nebula pro sort of.
or do you use a nebula server machine in parallel with nebula instances on your main machine?
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2114
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: upgrading Server

Postby dream » Tue Mar 04, 2014 10:42 pm

From my understating, very limited I should say, my guess is that you're correct.
I'm not using both at the same time, even though sometimes I do because the server doesn't load libraries that require authorization (excluded the new MCF).

Anyway, that should be a know problem; or maybe not a problem but simply how the Server version is, not sure. In my case it shouldn't work because I'm using the alternativedatapath command.
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Re: upgrading Server

Postby richie43 » Wed Mar 05, 2014 7:22 am

Why run both anyway? Just run more instances of the server version. The server version, even when run as a normal plugin (not in a server/slave setup) is a superior product, so why run Neb Pro at the same time? Do you perceive some advantage over running more instances of Server?
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4856
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: upgrading Server

Postby dream » Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:31 pm

Hi Richie!

Running both version is not something I do regularly or I want to, also because it wouldn't be possible in my workflow.
Most of the time I use just the Server version, but AITB libraries don't load (of course in my system, no idea about others, just trying to find a workaround that works for me).

So, if the project is still small I can start with Nebula Pro, load AITB (interested mostly on EAR) and then run the server. The new instances, after that point, will run under the Server, and what was loaded before still runs under Nebula Pro.

Lately "my" solution is (when I need EAR):
- deactivate all Nebula instances;
- close the server;
- open EAR with NebulaPro (which will load this time);
- print;
- delete the EAR instance;
- open the Server;
- activate again all other Nebula instances.


Therefore sometimes it happens that I use both, but once the printing has be done Id like to use just the server. In my system (10.8.5, mostly 32 bit) I would prefer Nebula Pro because the Server, always in my system, is a little slower-ish than Pro, but the Server allow me more instances. :)
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Re: upgrading Server

Postby richie43 » Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:39 pm

Hmm. I have no idea why AITB libraries don't work in server for you, I only run server and have no issues like that. Have you emailed Mirco (AITB) about this?
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4856
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: upgrading Server

Postby dream » Wed Mar 05, 2014 11:37 pm

You can read some news here: :)
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/index.php?f=11&t=27908&rb_v=viewtopic

Once I've been told that it was the alternativedatapath, but probably I misunderstood. Anyway, no problem, until there'll be a solution I use happily my workaround.
Mixing Engineer | Producer | Editing Audio Expert
http://www.davidefant.com
User avatar
dream
Member
Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 7:23 pm
Location: Los Angeles / Italy (Belluno)

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests