Login

Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby vallok7 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:44 am

Loading new instance or presets in Reaper is painfully slow, takes ~10 seconds but in cubase it takes no more than ~2 seconds.

Helppp please!
vallok7
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:55 pm

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby vallok7 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:48 am

also audio dropouts when the gui of Nebula is open.


Windows 7, 64 bit, reaper 64 bit / cubase 64 bit.
vallok7
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:55 pm

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby jorismak » Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:57 am

works fine here, seems you got a buffer setting wrong somewhere in Reaper.

Don't know how other DAWs work, but Reaper keeps the plugins going _all the time_, unless you mute a track (this can be configured of course, but this is how it is default). That means that putting 80+ instances of Nebula for example can make your whole system crawl because (Even if stopped) Reaper is still letting the plugins calculate stuff.
Just as a note in case you were working with lots of instances.


But a new project, single track and loading Nebula on it: less than 2 seconds easily. Only the very first time (after upgrade for example) when it scans its complete database it can take up to 20 seconds. After that I can close reaper, start it again and load Nebula again on a track all within 4 secs :).

I have no clue but it seems something is not OK on your end, cause it works fine here (Windows 7 SP1 x64, Windows 8.1 x64, Reaper x64).

Did you try running Reaper in 'administrator 'mode (right click on the shortcut, then 'run as administrator'). Who knows, maybe Nebula doesn't have enough rights to build it's database and needs to redo it every time. Just guessing here.
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby vallok7 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 4:23 am

Thanks! Im not sure what causes it. I made a new user under for windows and there it loads fine.
vallok7
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:55 pm

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby vallok7 » Wed Feb 26, 2014 4:50 am

Ok, I found the source of the problem. I had " Run this program in compatibility mode for: Windows 7" turned on.
vallok7
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 8:55 pm

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby giancarlo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 8:53 am

which version of windows 8 are you running?
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby jorismak » Thu Feb 27, 2014 11:28 am

he said he used Windows 7 x64?
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby giancarlo » Thu Feb 27, 2014 10:39 pm

so from windows 7 it is running in compatibility mode "windows 7" and it works? I don't understand. I though he was using windows 8 and forcing windows 7 compatibility mode.... or vista....
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Nebula loads slow in Reaper but OK in Cubase ?!

Postby jorismak » Fri Feb 28, 2014 12:51 am

agree with you :).

but in the 2nd post he states:
vallok7 wrote:Windows 7, 64 bit, reaper 64 bit / cubase 64 bit.


and then later:
vallok7 wrote:I had " Run this program in compatibility mode for: Windows 7" turned on.


So I agree giancarlo, it doesn't make sense :). But that is what he said :P
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron