Login

1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby jpchartrand » Sun Feb 23, 2014 6:36 pm

What is the difference between server 1.3.668 and 1.3.668 VSTGUI3?
jpchartrand
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:46 pm

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby jpchartrand » Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:28 pm

jpchartrand wrote:What is the difference between server 1.3.668 and 1.3.668 VSTGUI3?


I tried 1.3.668 VSTGUI3 and it instantly crashes my DAW upon Nebula 3 Reverb opening. I can't open Nebula Setups 2 anymore either. I'll try the 1.3.668 now.
jpchartrand
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:46 pm

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby jpchartrand » Sun Feb 23, 2014 7:36 pm

the non-VSTGUI3 works for me on OSX 10.8 and Reaper
jpchartrand
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:46 pm

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby giancarlo » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:45 pm

jpchartrand wrote:the non-VSTGUI3 works for me on OSX 10.8 and Reaper


yes first choice is non-VSTGUI3. VSTGUI3 is a legacy release, it will be removed. On mavericks, snow leopard I expect the non-VSTGUI3 working.
Anyway someone reported strange gui issues on old systems so we are providing an alternative. Maybe we'll hide this VSTGUI3 in a different folder. The same rules for windows.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby giancarlo » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:49 pm

triggerthehorizon wrote:Just played around with version 1.3.668 and I'm impressed! It loads faster, I can reduce the DSP buffer to 1024 and use 96k reverb and delay patches in real time with 0 lag in a 48k session! The skins are fixed as well. Very very happy.


yes we worked hard in order to improve stability and loading time. We improved also sample rate conversion.
Really I tried a further big improvement using a library I created for orion in our filesystem base classe. Anyway loading time was a lot worse, because nowdays number of loaded samples is below 1000, which goes faster in the old way. New system improves it when it is in the 1000 or greater ballpark. I'll try to merge both techniques. This technology (presented in london AES several days ago) reaches 1 million of insert/delete/queries for each core on common i7 notebook processors, and around 84 million of range queries/sec (qps)
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby giancarlo » Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:52 pm

if you merge the new engine with the FROZENBOOT (I said SCANBOOT, it was wrong) keyword in your xml file you get really fast loading times (especially if you use SSD). I can load nebulas on big libraries (several thousands of presets) in 1-2 seconds each one. We implemented a second level of cache in temp folder, based on the c++ library I was speaking before.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby jpchartrand » Sun Feb 23, 2014 11:40 pm

giancarlo wrote:if you merge the new engine with the FASTBOOT keyword in your xml file you get really fast loading times (especially if you use SSD). I can load nebulas on big libraries (several thousands of presets) in 1-2 seconds each one. We implemented a second level of cache in temp folder, based on the c++ library I was speaking before.


How do we make the FASTBOOT mod? Mine is showing a value of 1.
jpchartrand
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 196
Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2012 1:46 pm

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby giancarlo » Mon Feb 24, 2014 12:28 am

sorry, FROZENBOOT
Add this key,
<FROZENBOOT> 1 </FROZENBOOT>

but keep in mind nebula doesn't rebuild the scan of your files any more.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:21 am

giancarlo wrote:sorry, FROZENBOOT
Add this key,
<FROZENBOOT> 1 </FROZENBOOT>

but keep in mind nebula doesn't rebuild the scan of your files any more.


The Nebula tip of the month (#45 - March 2014)
How to rebuild and freeze Nebula database
viewtopic.php?f=39&t=27850
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: 1.3.636 released apparently, what's new?

Postby jorismak » Mon Feb 24, 2014 11:27 am

In a nutshell, if you know you're not adding new nebula-libraries for a while, you can 'freeze' the nebula repo so it loads very fast, right? That's what FROZENBOOT does if I understand correctly?

So if I add a library, set FROZENBOOT to 0. Load up Nebula, let it do it's thing so that the new library is added, then after that set FROZENBOOT back to 1?

added:
And once again I have to find out there is a new version out by just accidentally reading about it on the forum. No email, no notification in the plugin itself. Acustica seems to be the only company on the planet that doesn't want their customers to update
jorismak
Member
Member
 
Posts: 344
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:49 am

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests