Login

Changing program names easy way

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Changing program names easy way

Postby hwasser » Mon Nov 11, 2013 1:18 pm

Hi guys, did you know that there is a really fast and easy way to rename the programs by editing the "dictionary"?

It is REALLY EASY, you open up the dictionary-folder, inside there is a file called Rom.xml, open it up.
(but make a backup of the rom.xml file before editing, just for safety!)

Inside you'll find a list with programs, for example:
<MWQ> Modern White Eq </MWQ>

Can be changed to:
<MWQ> RND 5033 Eq </MWQ>

Inside Nebula, my program-list now look like this:
Image
hwasser
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:44 am

Re: Changing program names easy way

Postby dagovitsj » Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:52 pm

Great tip! Thanks ;)
What is the skin?

Best
|Win 7-64bit | Reaper 4. x64, Cubase 6.5.3., 64 & 32 bit | RAM:16 GB | CPU: Intel Core i5 760@ 2,8 GHz | Samsung SSD 830 (256 GB) | WD: Black harddisks | Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT Graphics Accelerator | Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD4 |Nebula 3 Pro |
dagovitsj
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 497
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:25 pm

Re: Changing program names easy way

Postby botus99 » Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:52 pm

I could easily spend a day doing this haha. Thanks for the tip!
Win10 Pro 64 / i7 6700K / 16gb RAM / Reaper | Allen&Heath ZED-R16 / Echo AudiofirePre8
Nebula Ultimate - Ochre, Red, Charly, Tan, Orange, Blue, Navy, Purple, Amethyst, Lime, Sand, Pink, 2412, 7236, Titanium, Aquamarine, Coral
User avatar
botus99
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 527
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:59 pm

Re: Changing program names easy way

Postby kels » Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:58 pm

You can coupled this method with copy+paste the .dll & .xml files that are in your plugins folder, edit the .xml <SKINNAME> OverwriteMe.N2S </SKINN> and put the most appropriate skin for each preset.
kels
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:43 am

Re: Changing program names easy way

Postby zabukowski » Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:09 pm

You are changing category descriptions/dictionary here.

You can also change program description itself using NebulaMan (demo will do). Description is shown in the Nebula plugin right under loaded program name.

In NebulaMan, right click on program and select "Quick description update".

Backup your repository before doing any changes!!!

Zabukowski
User avatar
zabukowski
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1103
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 8:44 pm
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia

Re: Changing program names easy way

Postby hwasser » Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:16 pm

Yeah, but this is really fast however. I even added a couple of names to units that didnt exist in this rom-file.

The skin is in this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=14&t=1451

Really good one too
hwasser
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:44 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests