Login

Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby sneaky » Sun Oct 27, 2013 1:10 am

i realised Ive been running the default 512 dspbuffer since the upgrade.. pushed it to 8192 & have more than doubled the track count
The resources offloaded to the server are around the same
sneaky
Member
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby kels » Fri Nov 15, 2013 6:55 pm

I did some tests today w an old Intel i7-920 2,6Ghz under XPx86 as server and a fresh new 4770K 3,5Ghz under W7x64 as client.
I can open at least (I still have room to add more) : 7 reverbs instances (GeneLennon+VNTXEMT140+oneofmyownNebulisedLex300)
+ 8 various others heavy things (MOJO...) on server side.
On client side, I'm now at 44 instances and I still have not pops, cracks, ... and it looks like I'm really far from overload.
Everything at 96KHz (except GLennnon stuf which is only 44kHz of course)
must note that server side is also loaded with firewall, antivirus as it is also connect to the internet.
Tried to swap client/server but it didn't work as well.
kels
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:43 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby enriquesilveti » Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:43 am

kels wrote:I did some tests today w an old Intel i7-920 2,6Ghz under XPx86 as server and a fresh new 4770K 3,5Ghz under W7x64 as client.
I can open at least (I still have room to add more) : 7 reverbs instances (GeneLennon+VNTXEMT140+oneofmyownNebulisedLex300)
+ 8 various others heavy things (MOJO...) on server side.
On client side, I'm now at 44 instances and I still have not pops, cracks, ... and it looks like I'm really far from overload.
Everything at 96KHz (except GLennnon stuf which is only 44kHz of course)
must note that server side is also loaded with firewall, antivirus as it is also connect to the internet.
.


Thank for report.

Tried to swap client/server but it didn't work as well


Check IP tag in MAST page.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby kels » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:37 am

Yeah, I swapped the IP too.
In that scenario (client=i7-920 ; server=4770K), the client just couldn't handle the huge amount of data coming from the server. I think we are in a rich client-server scenario here and whatever the resources dedicated to the server, the client must pay the price :)
So, imho, better to dedicate the fastest CPU to the client and the slowest one to the server.
kels
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:43 am

Previous

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests