Login

Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby mightymosaic » Mon Oct 21, 2013 1:03 am

Just curious to hear about the results that others are getting with there 2 CPU setups, I've been wanting to get another monster PC but haven't cause I'm afraid it won't be worth it. Does anyone have success? If so what is your computer build ? Any info is appreciated

Thx
mightymosaic
Member
Member
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:17 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby sneaky » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:32 am

yep. Ill do some tests & post what I get. dunno if its good or what
sneaky
Member
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby sneaky » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:57 am

Theres no way to do this scientifically I think.. a lot of this might depend on performance tweaks which I know nothing about
My gear is middle of the range & last-gen so Im guessing youll be able to offload 40-50% of the load on the local machine. I understand theyre still working on the networking.


So running a project in reaper @ 44.1, 24 bit..
The client machine has a presonus firepod, 28ms latency. Meaning theres no tracking, just mixing

Running Nebula client/server:
16 instances of alexb modern black console mono line-in before I get pops.
21 instances and theres distortion. I can render this out and start adding more

Running neb locally:
16 instances of alexb modern black console mono line-in sounds like the 2nd example above. Unusable. I can just about get 12 working instances
Adding more than 16 crashes reaper.
sneaky
Member
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby sneaky » Mon Oct 21, 2013 6:59 am

increasing the local interface latency increases the number of local nebulas I can run.
And decreases the number of nebula clients I can run at the same time. so who knows
sneaky
Member
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby sneaky » Mon Oct 21, 2013 7:16 am

your results might be different again depending on your driver. swapping the presonus driver with asio4allv2 gave me about the same performance over the network but slightly improved performance locally
sneaky
Member
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby mightymosaic » Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:10 am

I would be running 2 very powerful i7's over clocked to 4.5 GHz , I'm also running an mbox 3 pro. From what I've read your either saying there isn't a difference , or the server PC is taking 40% of the load from the primary PC?
mightymosaic
Member
Member
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:17 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby sneaky » Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:55 am

in my experience the server is taking on around 40-50% of the load from the client pc..
http://acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1872&
sneaky
Member
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby mightymosaic » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:15 am

O,k I just checked that other thread, seems interesting. So here's a question for the nebula gurus,

What is the ultimate build for a nebula slave PC.

You guys are building a hardware version of nebula that is pretty much a well optimized i7 PC right?

I seen the Dante pcie sound card in the other thread, will that help the latency issues? Its 1000$ at my local music store.

I really think this topic needs some well thought of attention.

What are the gurus saying?

Can we build a PC right now that will run server at a good rate?
mightymosaic
Member
Member
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:17 am

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:20 am

I'll do some test ASAP. I7 v3 and I7 v4 crossed CAT6 cable, GB LAN. Reaper+Reamote/Samplitude/VEP...
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Is anyone running 2 computers with nebula server?

Postby mightymosaic » Fri Oct 25, 2013 8:31 pm

Thanks ! , I havent purchased a new server comp yet. i am waiting for your results. ill be more than happy to run my own tests once i have everything setup and let everyone know how it came out.
mightymosaic
Member
Member
 
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:17 am

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: igbro and 2 guests