Login

1.3.600 Pro and Server running fine here (Mac)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

1.3.600 Pro and Server running fine here (Mac)

Postby jelmet » Tue Sep 24, 2013 2:42 am

10.8.5 on a i7 2600K hackintosh, 16Gb RAM. Reaper 4.51/64
Did the upgrade to Pro 1.3.6 and opened 3 sessions: all good, feels WAY faster to load programs. Feels a little lighter on the CPU.

Upgraded to Server 1.3.600 and all good too, only one minor problem:
http://acustica-audio.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=2194&p=60981#p60981

I don't know if it happened before on Pro .600, I only noticed now. Damn, it could even be happening at 1.3.502 and I could have missed.

Other than that, running GREAT. Extremely satisfied.

Tomorrow I'll try using my Macbook Air as Server and see what happens!
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada

Re: 1.3.600 Pro and Server running fine here (Mac)

Postby jkervin » Tue Sep 24, 2013 6:32 pm

Hey thanks for the feedback - I've been holding off on the upgrade for OSX until I heard some good news. Do you notice a big difference between Server and Pro?
jkervin
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:31 pm

Re: 1.3.600 Pro and Server running fine here (Mac)

Postby jelmet » Wed Sep 25, 2013 5:07 am

I must say I didn't feel that much difference...
BUT, I didn't try it a lot either.
Like I said, both feel a little less heavy on the CPU and both load programs waaaaaay faster, at least 1/4th of the time.
I would say if you don't:
- want to run 64bit VST
- want to use server to save RAM
- want to use server LAN
there is no reason to go from Pro to Server.
But again, I didn't put that much time on Pro .600 before going to Server .600
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada

Re: 1.3.600 Pro and Server running fine here (Mac)

Postby jkervin » Wed Sep 25, 2013 2:37 pm

Awesome. Thanks so much, man! I guess I'll stick with Pro for now.
jkervin
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 7:31 pm


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest