Login

Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ??!

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ??!

Postby davida » Thu Aug 15, 2013 2:06 am

Hi,

After reading and reading several topics, Iv' haven't found the right way to do this and make it work. :?

I've installed a fresh OSX (10.6.8) on a SSD , so the nebula library is too big for it.
My wish is to tell to nebula that there is "paradise" in another HD.
I've tried to edit the .Xml as mentioned in the FAQ, but it's crashing directly my daw ( Ableton Live 9.0.5) when I call the plugin in my session. :roll:

What I've edited in both Nebula.Xml & Nebula Reverb.Xml,
is this:
<ALTERNATIVEDATAPATH> /myotherHD/AcusticaAudio/Nebula3/ <ALTERNATIVEDATAPATH>

I've certainly missed something, but a help would be greatly appeciated :D
Last edited by davida on Thu Aug 15, 2013 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
davida
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:19 am

Re: Installing all the LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD-

Postby davida » Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:21 pm

Anyone ? ;)
davida
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:19 am

Re: Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ?

Postby scooter » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:12 pm

Do this.

Open the XML in text edit. Highlight and deleted the "myotherHD" part. Open finder and navigate to where thw AcouticaAudio folder is. Grab it with your mouse and drag it to the spot where you deleted the "myotherHD".

Save the XML.

Done

PS - you may want to install a fresh XML and not work from the one you've possibly corrupted
-Scott
User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Re: Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ?

Postby davida » Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:46 pm

Hey Scott,
Thanks a lot man ! All works fine now .

:mrgreen:
davida
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:19 am

Re: Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ?

Postby FrankydT » Sat Aug 17, 2013 1:37 am

Or make a symbolic link.
Hope this helps.
Good luck bye
FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm

Re: Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ?

Postby winterfox » Mon Aug 19, 2013 7:55 pm

Does putting the library on a non-system drive effect performance at all? I'm on a Windows 7 64-bit PC with a 128Gig SSD, and I'd also like to be able to move the library to another disk, since it's beginning to fill up. And I assume the same procedure applies for Windows?
Thanks!
64bitWin7onSSD,i7 3930k,16gRam, Motu828mkii,Reaper4,NebPro3v1.3.505,3x7200rpmHDs
winterfox
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 5:29 am

Re: Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ?

Postby davida » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:55 am

Does putting the library on a non-system drive effect performance at all? I'm on a Windows 7 64-bit PC with a 128Gig SSD, and I'd also like to be able to move the library to another disk, since it's beginning to fill up. And I assume the same procedure applies for Windows?


For my side, no problem was found . The only problem I have now, is I can't run Nebula Server .505, it's buggy. Many drop outs, clicks ect…
Even with a high dsp buffer. ( and my machine got 16 gb of ram too)
So I've downgrade until Nebula Pro .492 which is far more stable for me now. I'm waiting an update more efficient for Nebula Server on Osx.

But again, move the Lib doesn't give any performance issue.
davida
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:19 am

Re: Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ?

Postby davida » Sun Aug 25, 2013 1:59 am

FrankydT wrote:Or make a symbolic link.
Hope this helps.
Good luck bye


Hey FrankydT,
I've tried first the alias or symbolic link, but that doesn't work here.

But edit the .xml works perfect.
davida
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 2:19 am

Re: Entire LIB in other Internal HD than my SSD OSX system ?

Postby FrankydT » Sun Aug 25, 2013 12:35 pm

You should put the symbolic links (remove the symlink extension) of your external Programs and Vectors folders, and replace with them the original folders in Library/Audio/Presets/AcusticaAudio/Nebula3.
This works with the original xml.
If you have changed the original path it doesn't work.
Working perfectly here (Snow Leopard)
Good luck
FrankydT
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 166
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:47 pm


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests