Login

Running both 32-bit and 64-bit on same computer

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Running both 32-bit and 64-bit on same computer

Postby mtalavera » Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:19 am

Hello Nebula forum!

My first post as I am brand new to Nebula (bought Nebula3 Pro), with just about a week under my belt, so still getting my feet wet.

I've got the 64-bit version of Nebuala3 Pro installed, and in Reaper 64-bit, everything is working like a dream.

I'm also using Pro Tools 10, which is a 32-bit DAW. My question is, can I run the 32-bit Nebula3 Pro installer and have them share the same nebulatemprepository directory, or do I have to have one temprepository for 64-bit and a separate one for 32-bit and copy over all of my libraries? I have Nomad Factory MAGMA, which can load VST plugins, which will allow me to use Nebula in Pro Tools.
mtalavera
Member
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:55 pm

Re: Running both 32-bit and 64-bit on same computer

Postby enriquesilveti » Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:02 am

You can share temprepository. Install x86 version for an upgrade, if you do from a setup you will overwrite your personal custom key.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Running both 32-bit and 64-bit on same computer

Postby mtalavera » Thu Aug 08, 2013 6:20 pm

Thank you, Enrique. I downloaded and installed the update for the x86 version and overall, it is exactly what I needed.

There is one thing I did have to do, though. In the the directory where the dll's are installed for the 32-bit version, in my case on Windows it is C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\vstplugins\acustica, the XML files in that directory had the word "installation" in them, and not named the same as the dll file. I looked in these XML files, and there were only like four elements in there, not nearly as many as the XML files in the 64-bit directory. So I copied the ones from the 64-bit directory into the 32-bit directory and renamed them to match the dll, so something like Nebual3.xml and Nebula3Reverb.xml.

I'm not sure if that does any harm or not, but I loaded the 32-bit version in Pro Tools through Nomad Factory MAGMA, and it worked perfectly from what I can tell.
mtalavera
Member
Member
 
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat May 07, 2011 10:55 pm

Re: Running both 32-bit and 64-bit on same computer

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Aug 09, 2013 11:11 am

Yes it's good. Nebula is PC has a very flexible path scheme.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests