Login

New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby marcpl » Fri Oct 28, 2011 10:51 pm

hi, i know that you guys have contacted avid to request the RTAS SDK but never heard back from them.
i'm guessing that's because RTAS ends with Protools 10 and will be completely replaced by the new AAX format starting with Protools 11.

so i'm wondering if you have/will contact avid again to request the new AAX SDK?

as a protools/nebula user i'm getting kind of freaked out that i'll have to decide between EITHER protools OR nebula when PT 11 finally comes around.

fxpansion hasn't updated the VST-RTAS wrapper in years so i'm thinking there's not going to be a VST-AAX wrapper.

i personally rely on both protools and nebula and can't image life without nebula at this point...i just can't give it up now.

so anyway, is there a chance of seeing nebula AAX support in the future?

thanks,
marco
marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby mathias » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:09 pm

neverending protools-horror ....... :roll:
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby giancarlo » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:36 pm

I'm almost sure we'll not support this new format. Moving all the code to texas would be a serious pain, we are a little company. Development costs are high, and I'm not sure about the future of the platform
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9212
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby marcpl » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:41 pm

that's what i was afraid of.
and, yes, avid is a horror!

thanks for the info.
marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby giancarlo » Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:52 pm

yes don't get me wrong, avid is a great company. But we have a different philosophy, if I close my eyes I see the word "native" only
Cuda was an exception, but just because new cpu will include a gpu inside, so gpu are an other piece of future. My forecasts in the past turned out right: I forecasted iphone and ipad several years before they were released by apple
The future? cloud + social + streaming + geolocalization + remote centralized repositories + etherogeneous devices sharing the paid content (watches, glasses...)
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9212
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby marcpl » Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:27 am

i've been using protools for 16 years and it's a great DAW but i'll have to respectfully disagree with you about avid being a great company.

acustica audio is a great company. avid, not so much.
but i should really save the avid bashing for the DUC and gearslutz.

marco
marcpl
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 7:39 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby joshnur » Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:49 am

Choice made for me (see the Off-Topic PT 10 thread) and it's not Pro Tools. I got tired of it. It will be either Reaper or Logic or Samplitude.

marcpl wrote:as a protools/nebula user i'm getting kind of freaked out that i'll have to decide between EITHER protools OR nebula when PT 11 finally comes around.
joshnur
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:59 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby joshnur » Sat Oct 29, 2011 1:53 am

:lol:

Death of Avid...

OccupyAvid

Threads here:
http://www.gearslutz.com/board/pro-tools-10-hdx/
joshnur
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2010 12:59 pm

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby enriquesilveti » Sat Oct 29, 2011 12:45 pm

Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: New Protools AAX support for Nebula?

Postby richie43 » Sat Oct 29, 2011 5:38 pm

enriquesilveti wrote:Time for think about Pyramix, http://www.merging.com/products/show?product=1



....or Reaper......
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests