Login

1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Postby fhill2 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 5:45 am

I sent my .ser file, and have recieved 2 files which I put in their respective folders.
In Live 9 64bit, I am able to load the 1.3.502 version, in 32bit au + vst, aswell as 32bit bridged to 64bit using jbridge. I can load patches, pass audio, everything is fine.
However, when I enter the IP address in the .xml file, located in my vst folder, and then re-initilize the plug-in (by deleting/opening a new plug-in on the track), it crashes Live.

The crash occurs after changing this line in the xml file.

<SERVERADDRESS> . </SERVERADDRESS>

to (my ip address)

<SERVERADDRESS> 81.136.225.290 </SERVERADDRESS>

I have tested this with all versions of the plug-in (32bit and 64bit) and in Live 32bit/64bit. Crash everytime.
I'm unable to use the .505 version due to the VSTgui bug.

Does anyone have some advice they can give me? it will be nice to setup my server soon. :)
ML 10.8.3 by the way.
fhill2
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:32 am

Re: 1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Jun 20, 2013 6:35 pm

<SERVERADDRESS> 81.136.225.290 </SERVERADDRESS>


Wrong address. Maximum IP address should be 81.136.225.254. Please check it.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: 1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Postby fhill2 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 12:21 am

I'm now trying to connect with my laptop instead, my other computer is a PC, and I am more experienced in MAC. So, in system preferences under network settings, the ip address is 169.254.173.109 (laptop). So my xml file looks like this on the local machine. - the computer I run my daw on.

<SERVERADDRESS> 169.254.173.109 </SERVERADDRESS>

and this crashes live when I open the nebula reverb plug-in.
When the xml is:

<SERVERADDRESS> . </SERVERADDRESS>

I can load the plug-in successfully.
fhill2
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:32 am

Re: 1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Postby fhill2 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 1:48 am

So I re-downloaded the package from the internet, and did a full re-install which seems to fix the crash problem, although I don't know what was causing it.
Now i'm having trouble setting up the server with my reverb component (32bit au in Live 9).
I have followed these steps I found in another post.




first make sure you have a lan connection between your two computers. on the client machine - where your daw is - edit the "nebula<version>.xml" (or reverb-version if you use that, you find it in your vst-plugin-folder). you find two lines in there, that are related to the server:
<SERVERPORT> 6000 </SERVERPORT>
<SERVERADDRESS> 192.168.1.2 </SERVERADDRESS>
you have to specify the tcp adress of your second computer (above you see mine), leave the port as it is.

on the server machine you need to have an installation of nebula with all the programs.
in the nebulatemprepository, there is a folder called "server". you find the server-versions for 32 and 64 bit os in there. open the xml-file of the serverversion you use and write as serveradress "127.0.0.1".
start the server and open the infopanel (click on the symbol in the taskbar). it will show you if plugin-instances are connected.

go back to the main-machine and start your audioprogram and load nebula. If it works, you should see on the server-infopanel one connected instance.






I've edited the 'Nebula3 Reverb.xml' in my au folder of my main (local) DAW machine to read the IP address of my server machine.

<SERVERADDRESS> 169.254.6.31 </SERVERADDRESS>

I've edited the 'NebulaServerMac.xml' on my server machine to read IP address 127.0.0.1, like this:

<SERVERADDRESS> 127.0.0.1 </SERVERADDRESS>

I open a few Nebula's on my main DAW (local) machine and load patches.
Then I opened the 'NebulaServerMac' application on my server machine, it reads

Clients:0
Memory:0.0M
CPU:0%
GPU:0%
fhill2
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:32 am

Re: 1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Postby enriquesilveti » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:31 am

1. Run Nebula Server stand alone application in the Remote Server Computer.
2. Edit MAST page XML file server tags in the local computer, example:

<SERVERADDRESS> 169.254.6.31 </SERVERADDRESS>
<SERVERPORT> 6000 </SERVERPORT>

SERVERADDRESS is the IP address of the Remote Server Computer, NOT the IP the local computer.
3. Open your sequencer in local computer.
4. Load Nebula in local computer.

Do not run Nebula Server in local computer. To check if Nebula is connected with Nebula Server, go DISK page and check Server parameters or go to Remote Server Computer and click on the server icon. In windows firewall is not bad idea to add Nebula Server application and allow port 6000.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: 1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Postby fhill2 » Sun Jul 07, 2013 10:11 pm

I don't know at which location I should edit the server tags. Can you please clarify? Is it:

Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Presets>AcusticaAudio>Nebula3>Server>NebulaServerMac.xml
or
Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>VST>Nebula3 Reverb.xml


In the DISK page it shows:

LOCAL MEM: 4460
SHARED MEM:8870
VERSION: Nebula 1.3.502
BRIDGE: N/A
SERVER: N/A

What should these parameters show when server is correctly set up?

Im guessing the Server App on Remote computer should show activity, mine still says:

Clients:0
Memory:0.0M
CPU:0%
GPU:0%

Which leads me to believe the server isn't successfully setup....
Also I'm guessing that both Nebula folders located at Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Presets>AcusticaAudio>Nebula3 should be the identical on both computers?
Thanks for the help!
fhill2
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 1:32 am

Re: 1.3.502 Server Only Crash

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Jul 08, 2013 12:33 pm

Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Presets>AcusticaAudio>Nebula3>Server>NebulaServerMac.xml
or
Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>VST>Nebula3 Reverb.xml


Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Plug-Ins>VST>Nebula3 Reverb.xml

Nebula3 Reverb.xml
<SERVERADDRESS> IP address here </SERVERADDRESS>
<SERVERPORT> Port number here </SERVERPORT>

Also I'm guessing that both Nebula folders located at Macintosh HD>Library>Audio>Presets>AcusticaAudio>Nebula3 should be the identical on both computers?
Thanks for the help!


No. Nebula with IP and PORT tags will search for a Nebula Server in the remote server computer, Nebula Server will copy Nebula MAST page settings but will look into DATAPATH for load libraries, those libraries should be in the remote server computer HDD/SSD. For use Nebula and Nebula with a remote server computer you should have 2 Nebula, once with IP and PORT tags and other Nebula without it. Nebula3 Pro Server with IP and PORT tags are called Nebula Client.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests