Login

hardware change, it's worth it?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

hardware change, it's worth it?

Postby comodine » Sat Apr 27, 2013 12:05 pm

Hallo everyone
This post follow my previous one asking information about a good CPU in a certain price range.
This weekend I moved from my old hardware configuration (Intell Q6600 8GB RAM) to a new one(Intell I73770K 16GB RAM), mainly to improve nebula workflow.
I like to share my impression . to do that I prepare a Cubase 6.5 project :
6 audio track: basically is just a guitar strumming duplicated 6 times
In the first two tracks , 3 Nebula instance 1 Alexb Poolteq, 2 Alexb CLC consoles
In the remaining 4 tracks 2 instance each one 1 Alexb CLC console, 1 alexb Pulteq
Then 2 aux bus with two Nebula instance BUS1- drum reverb from Henry Olonga
BUS 2- EMT140 from VXNT.
Attached you will have to images, showing the cpu and memory task with the two hardware configurations…
This will be useful to choose new hardware I hope
Ciao.
Image
Image
comodine
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:12 am
Location: Chieri Turin Italy

Re: hardware change, it's worth it?

Postby david1103 » Sat Apr 27, 2013 4:18 pm

Thanks, that is very interesting and helpful.
User avatar
david1103
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:26 am

Re: hardware change, it's worth it?

Postby SWAN » Sun Apr 28, 2013 7:58 am

2 or 3x more cpu? difficult to see that image numbers
Mac Mini i7 quad 2.6

Logic X
Live 9
Reaper
SWAN
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 11:16 pm

Re: hardware change, it's worth it?

Postby comodine » Sun Apr 28, 2013 9:05 am

comodine
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:12 am
Location: Chieri Turin Italy

Re: hardware change, it's worth it?

Postby david1103 » Sun Apr 28, 2013 12:46 pm

It is very hard to see the screen shot as the resolution is so low. I think it is from 94% to 35% CPU use.
User avatar
david1103
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:26 am

Re: hardware change, it's worth it?

Postby comodine » Sun Apr 28, 2013 1:35 pm

Exactly, you are right
This is just a test to check the behavior of the system moving from a five year old configuration to a recent hardware
comodine
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:12 am
Location: Chieri Turin Italy

Re: hardware change, it's worth it?

Postby scalawag » Sun Apr 28, 2013 2:31 pm

Why is Nebula restricted to SSE2 optimizations? I'm not a programmer but shouldn't it be at least SSE3 or SSSE3?
scalawag
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2011 3:26 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron