Login

Compresser reduction readings(lite)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Compresser reduction readings(lite)

Postby Scottf » Fri Mar 29, 2013 7:36 pm

Am I right in thinking the reduction
Meter is "broken"

it's always reading highest reduction of
-1.5 db no matter how low a threshold and high
A ratio, I've really compressed stuff but
I'm not noticing it reading anything further
Than 1db reduction, is this behaviour
Same for everyone?
Scottf
User Level VI
User Level VI
 
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 5:00 pm

Re: Compresser reduction readings(lite)

Postby gurth » Fri Mar 29, 2013 11:30 pm

Not for me, it is.. it is working just fine.
User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: Compresser reduction readings(lite)

Postby ngarjuna » Sat Mar 30, 2013 4:21 am

It varies widely from compressor to compressor. I don't recall ever seeing the behavior you described but in my experience some compressors tend to seriously under exaggerate (you can hear the compressor clamping but the meter reads 0.000 reduction) while others seem to display what seems like more realistic values. I wouldn't put much stock in it.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Compresser reduction readings(lite)

Postby scooter » Sat Mar 30, 2013 5:27 am

You really need to use your ears when it comes to using Nebula compressors. Not that this is a bad thing, but the metering isn't very reliable for compression presets.
-Scott
User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Re: Compresser reduction readings(lite)

Postby gurth » Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:20 am

ngarjuna wrote:It varies widely from compressor to compressor. I don't recall ever seeing the behavior you described but in my experience some compressors tend to seriously under exaggerate (you can hear the compressor clamping but the meter reads 0.000 reduction) while others seem to display what seems like more realistic values. I wouldn't put much stock in it.



Sorry for my bad answer I checked the question with stripe compressor and it was dping fine, but indeed my other comps just show whatever they want.sorry. :oops:
User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests