Login

Audio Fades In when Rendering on some programs.

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Audio Fades In when Rendering on some programs.

Postby highvoltage » Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:28 am

Has anybody noticed this?

http://prntscr.com/wqo6t

When i render audio with some programs, the first few milliseconds gets faded in. On some programs it cuts down almost the whole first transient. Strangely it only happens with some libraries. I could't figure out a pattern here. It happens almost with all the compressors, consoles and a lot of tapes. On Reverbs and Eqs it's a bit more rare.

I thought it might has to do with dynamic kernels, but i couldn't see a pattern there either.

It doesn't relate to sample rate, buffer size, render quality, kernel number. It just happens with some programs.

If someone cares to test this, some programs that has this problem:
Cassettes from cupwise,
Reel 2 Reel, including tape booster
Fate compressor
Drawmer

I have uploaded a Wav file here with a sharp transient.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/634580/HV%2020 ... CLICK2.wav

Can someone confirm this, or is it on my end only?
highvoltage
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: Audio Fades In when Rendering on some programs.

Postby enriquesilveti » Tue Mar 19, 2013 9:56 am

We should have more information about your setup in order to reproduce the issue. Please post a full report (viewtopic.php?f=10&t=484)
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Audio Fades In when Rendering on some programs.

Postby richie43 » Tue Mar 19, 2013 5:47 pm

highvoltage wrote:Has anybody noticed this?

http://prntscr.com/wqo6t

When i render audio with some programs, the first few milliseconds gets faded in. On some programs it cuts down almost the whole first transient. Strangely it only happens with some libraries. I could't figure out a pattern here. It happens almost with all the compressors, consoles and a lot of tapes. On Reverbs and Eqs it's a bit more rare.

I thought it might has to do with dynamic kernels, but i couldn't see a pattern there either.

It doesn't relate to sample rate, buffer size, render quality, kernel number. It just happens with some programs.

If someone cares to test this, some programs that has this problem:
Cassettes from cupwise,
Reel 2 Reel, including tape booster
Fate compressor
Drawmer

I have uploaded a Wav file here with a sharp transient.

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/634580/HV%2020 ... CLICK2.wav

Can someone confirm this, or is it on my end only?

I have all of the libraries that you mentioned as having the problem with, and I have zero problems with any of them. Everything renders fine. Good luck.
What DAW are you using, by the way?
Also, have you tried the same renders with a little empty space at the beginning? I have had that same problem in Reaper before with no plugins, it had more to do with not having a long enough lead in for the render.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4862
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Audio Fades In when Rendering on some programs.

Postby highvoltage » Thu Mar 21, 2013 11:56 am

richie43 wrote:I have all of the libraries that you mentioned as having the problem with, and I have zero problems with any of them. Everything renders fine. Good luck.
What DAW are you using, by the way?
Also, have you tried the same renders with a little empty space at the beginning? I have had that same problem in Reaper before with no plugins, it had more to do with not having a long enough lead in for the render.


Hi, thanks for checking,

Im using Reaper currently now, moved from Cubase, so i will make further testing in there too, and will try Soundforge. Oh and i have a demo of Live, so i can shoot out if it's the DAW.

And yes, currently i made a macro in Reaper that adds 2 seconds of silence before rendering, and it works, but it's not a solution for batch processing for example.

My system:

Win 7 x64 sp1
Reaper x86
Im using the latest Nebula 3 Pro, tried with the reverb and non-reverb versions, and various settings.
highvoltage
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: Audio Fades In when Rendering on some programs.

Postby richie43 » Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:24 pm

If you are batch processing, just add some silence to the actual audio, glue them as new item, and delete the old ones. I am saying to make sure you have some silence lead-in in general. Also (but unrelated), since you are on a 64bit OS, why are you using a 32bit Reaper? Just curious.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4862
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Vando and 5 guests