Login

Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby beingmf3 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:31 am

I just found out about a – maybe – incredible project called "Parallela". Basically it's an open-source add-on Arm CPU that can be connected e.g. via Ethernet. As far as I understood you might build a XX-core computer. The only question for Nebula users (and devs, sorry :)) is: would the A*I support close-to-realtime processing and would it be fast enough?

In case you're interested: http://www.parallella.org/
User avatar
beingmf3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:32 pm

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby enriquesilveti » Sat Feb 16, 2013 9:21 pm

beingmf3 wrote:I just found out about a – maybe – incredible project called "Parallela". Basically it's an open-source add-on Arm CPU that can be connected e.g. via Ethernet. As far as I understood you might build a XX-core computer. The only question for Nebula users (and devs, sorry :)) is: would the A*I support close-to-realtime processing and would it be fast enough?

In case you're interested: http://www.parallella.org/


Which OS?
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby maye4 » Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:56 pm

Parallela is in developing,hardware and software.So...The answer is future.
maye4
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:10 pm

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby giancarlo » Sun Feb 17, 2013 9:51 pm

nebula does not work on arm cpu
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9191
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby dwagrimm » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:53 am

@ giancarlo

what exactly means that? arm cpu? nebula deos not work on arm cpu? is this in the context to parallela only? or maybe multi cpu too? so what? :?:
dwagrimm
User Level IX
User Level IX
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:31 pm

Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby dwagrimm » Mon Feb 18, 2013 9:55 pm

Thanks enrique, thats new to me.
dwagrimm
User Level IX
User Level IX
 
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby david1103 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:50 pm

I am sure a CUDA type library will be available for intel based windows to access at some point :)

http://www.designspark.com/blog/a-close ... parallella

Epiphany is designed for use as a co-processor to ARM and Intel etc. hosts in a heterogeneous computing system. Such systems, with mixed types of computational units, are nothing new and just about any modern workstation, tablet or smartphone is equipped with a GPU in addition to a CPU. Without which it would be impossible, or at least not cost effective or practical, to achieve the required graphics performance with use of a general purpose processor alone.
User avatar
david1103
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:26 am

Re: Parallela – would that work with Nebula???

Postby beingmf3 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:08 pm

Yes, that's the way I've understood it, too. It's meant as an additional computing network for ANY host architecture – CUDA isn't ARM, I know, but it isn't an original Intel or AMD either.

Image
User avatar
beingmf3
Member
Member
 
Posts: 349
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2010 12:32 pm


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Melodist and 2 guests