Login

Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby mim1050 » Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:30 pm

I think the perfect solution is an embedded chainer in nebula server, this way you don't have to do the round trip for each nebula instances, you can remotely process a nebula chain with only 1 round trip (not to mention network latency won't add on each instances).

But I imagine it is a lot of work ....

Reaper's native solution for remote processing (reamote) works this way : you choose a track you want to be processed remotely, then Reaper just send the original audio, and get in return the processed audio after the whole FX chain.
mim1050
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 7:25 pm

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby ngarjuna » Tue Oct 04, 2011 2:15 pm

It would be fair to point out that gigabit Ethernet is a pretty old technology now.
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby Henry Olonga » Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:20 am

Gigabit ethernet old or not is still ample bandwith guys. 125 Mb/sec. That is pretty darn fast and can run about 250 channels of 24 bit 96 khz theoretically. Of course there is overhead to consider so numbers are far less but that is faster than any but the fastest spinning hdd can handle.

With link aggregation one can combine the bandwith of all your NICs and get up to 3 or 4 gigabits. That is 375 Mb/sec on my system. I am reinstalling my main computer and server to take advantage of this soon. I will report back once ut is up and running. Perhaps next week sometime.

Main comp and servers are dual cpu intel xeon workstations so these are no slouches. If there is a problem running this setup and we get low numbers, it won't be because of bandwith.
User avatar
Henry Olonga
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:38 am
Location: South west England

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby jelmet » Fri Oct 07, 2011 12:42 am

But the thing is... is there any space to optimization on the server side of Nebula? Is this the BEST we can have for ethernet configuration?
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby RJHollins » Fri Oct 07, 2011 1:07 am

Look forward to your test results 'h-man'.

I currently have the server version, but as yet, have
not employed any external servers. But they were/are
definitely planned for the new room.

thanks!
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2633
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby giancarlo » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:06 am

trouble is not bandwidth but realtime
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby Henry Olonga » Fri Oct 07, 2011 11:45 pm

Realtime meaning CPU usage?
User avatar
Henry Olonga
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:38 am
Location: South west England

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby giancarlo » Sat Oct 08, 2011 12:11 am

realtime usage of network... bandwidth doesn't mean you can use it all for realtime applications... it's a theorical value you can use if there aren't deadlines...
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby Henry Olonga » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:09 am

Thanks Giancarlo. So in your opinion what kind of performance can we expect with the latest generation of comps with 10 gigabit?
User avatar
Henry Olonga
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 1:38 am
Location: South west England

Re: Realistic usage of Server thru ethernet

Postby giancarlo » Sat Oct 08, 2011 10:16 am

I didn't test them... I would expect something 10 times faster
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests