Login

Anyone running Nebula on a Xeon?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Anyone running Nebula on a Xeon?

Postby Definity » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:30 pm

So i was thinking about updatin my pc i was thinking about getting 2 processors, is anyone else running this sort of setup if so, what processor are you running?
Definity
Member
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Anyone running Nebula on a Xeon?

Postby Benjaminjo » Tue Sep 20, 2011 9:13 pm

Using Double Xeon Nehalem here...12gb ram
Its a blast
Benjaminjo
User Level III
User Level III
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:33 pm

Re: Anyone running Nebula on a Xeon?

Postby Definity » Wed Sep 21, 2011 4:38 pm

how many instancees of nebula can you run?
Definity
Member
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Anyone running Nebula on a Xeon?

Postby Martinez » Wed Sep 21, 2011 10:38 pm

It wil be interesting to see what happens when intel bring out the sany bridge Architecture for the Xeon range.

Man that will be absolutely insane!
Martinez
Member
Member
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 2:03 pm

Re: Anyone running Nebula on a Xeon?

Postby Definity » Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:32 am

or Ivy-Bridge, 22nm would be crazy, for now i think i am gonna wait for i7 2700k processor, if that dose well then i might get that but if xeon does better then i might get that.


But im pretty sure i want 5 SSD HD in RAID0 which mean they act like 1 HD (so instead of 5 drives doing 500MB/s each they work together) i should be abel to get 2.5GB/s not Gbps. and with 1600MHZ 12gb RAM and Cuda t should eb a machine, im just not sure on the processor yet. Xeon or i7 i hope i can run a full console with eq'sso then hopefully i can get a 32 track nebula desk with 4 sends 4 reverbs and 6 groups
Definity
Member
Member
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 2:54 am

Re: Anyone running Nebula on a Xeon?

Postby Benjaminjo » Thu Sep 22, 2011 1:39 am

Definity wrote:how many instancees of nebula can you run?


Well it depends on a lot of things. But mainly depends on the sample rate, the host used and the nebula program.
With Reaper I can open the largest amount of nebula instances before clipping the cpu, at 96khz something like 40/50 presets (test made 1 year ago when nebula wasnt so optimized). Shame I dont like that host very much.
In fact the problem is to find a good host/sequencer, that can use all the processing power of a machine like this and still being fun to use (and sounds good too).
Benjaminjo
User Level III
User Level III
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:33 pm


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests