Login

Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby noiZefloor » Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:55 pm

Yes, I know that nebula should work using the fxpansion wrapper, but that's not a solution for me or a lot more guys. No one trusts the vst wrapper. It causes problems with control surfaces, introduces CPU spikes, you cannot use the compare button...I can tell you it's something totally different to work with a real rtas plugin. I just realized that when UAD showed up with real rtas support for their plugins. I just started to use them again and it's pure fun. Come on guys, nebula sound fantastic and just take a look on gearslutz. Everyone at least knows nebula, but the whole protools community is not in will to give it at least a try as long as it's not a real rtas plugin.

Please find the time to help Acustica to get a rtas development kit:
http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=1833074#post1833074
Last edited by noiZefloor on Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
noiZefloor
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:13 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby enriquesilveti » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:33 pm

We request several times RTAS development kit, but AVID NEVER replay us.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby elam » Wed Sep 07, 2011 7:40 pm

Let's be REALLY honest... Sell PT and go for something else (as I did).
RTAS is a thing of the past.It has already reach is limits.TDM is overpriced and you're stuck with it's fvcked up converters...

And yes I think that PT is not the best platform for Nebula (as you see on every forums).

If I remember Enrique works with PT and as a Nebula guru he might help you find nice settings to make your life easier with it.

Just test a couple of DAW & open a couple of Nebula instance in them.Just test it yourself.After that,decide if it worth the learning curve or no.But do it yourself...and judge.You'll know what I'm talking about...


PS: I ain't got any problem with AVID.It's just that you ask us to be honest ;)
elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby dpclarkson » Wed Sep 07, 2011 10:58 pm

I sold my Hd3 a couple of years ago;
couldn't be happier!
Since I've discovered that Nebula is working
great with Reaper (which is highly underrated,
I believe), I'm starting to learn Reaper more and
more. It's all worth it.
Logic doesn't unload plugins, nor does PT.
So no rendering and mixing in those 2. ;)
Furthermore, PT doesn't let you save channelstrip
settings, so you have to make new chains
with every session, and importing session-data
is a bit pointless to me.
PT is a dying platform, very slowly over
the years.
I'm not kidding.
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby scooter » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:30 am

Yes please! :D and I'm being selfish, strictly because I don't want to drop the coin for the RTAS rapper shite

All excellent points about the Reaper, though and it would be absolute torture bouncing files in PT, if you ran out of CPU. Reaper is a bad fother mucker!

On a side note.... I just cut some jalapenos and touched my eye. Yeooowwza!!! :shock:
-Scott
User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby cpwade » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:14 am

dpclarkson- i could not agree more with your comments and stance.

Reaper, no idea, I will DL tonight.

Logic- love channel strips and plays nice with OSX. Great writing tool, dependable, solid. Summing is not amazing and audio editing is inferior, but usable. Try stripping DC offset for example- click, click, click.. some old code in there, from the prosoniq guys I bet. Mixes sound muddy- my bad. I've heard some pretty amazing stuff mixed out of Logic, just not from me.

PT- Just spent three days reinstalling and then deciding to jump up to 9 from 8.05. What a little bitch PT is. Nothing but issues. I have $$$ in RTAS so I stay in the game. Audio editing amazing, summing in 9 is as good as Nuendo. Outstanding. Mixes have clarity and mid crunch. My mixes anyway. Wrapper works fine with VST to RTAS.

Not sure why I wrote this.
User avatar
cpwade
Member
Member
 
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 5:42 pm
Location: Colorado

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby richie43 » Thu Sep 08, 2011 4:21 am

I couldn't agree more about Reaper. It has saved my ass and kept me in the digital audio game. Reaper is deep and powerful. Unlimited and VERY customizable. Also works with everything!
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby wakevortex » Thu Sep 08, 2011 8:59 am

If you look at my thread here

http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

Nebula does not actually WORK with the latest version of protools.
I am dead in the water till something is fixed..
Its currently the only plugin I am having troubles with on this new version.
It may well be something to do with the wrapper , but the fact is I have a Nebula server which is useless inside the current protools

any ideas appreciated !
Bill P
wakevortex
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby noiZefloor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:04 pm

Ok...I did not expect to see lots of PT friends in here ;) I've really tried every kind of DAW. I came from Sonar, and I realized that it sounds stressed the more plugins you insert. I really tried every kind of DAW and I've really got to say, it's the same with every native DAW. I really love PT for what it is. I don't want so save channel strips or whatever. Every song is a new song.

Let's get back to topic. I don't want to start another DAW war Thread.

Maybe we shall start a a thread on DUC. I just can't understand why Avid keeps ignoring nebula. Maybe they want to protect their other developers :twisted:

btw: My biggest problem with the wrapped version of nebula is, that it introduces blasting noise randomly when I stop playback. Sounds a bit like a buffer that's being emptied. I just own nebula2 but it's the same with the nebula3 demo.
noiZefloor
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:13 pm

Re: Let's be honest! We really need a rtas version

Postby noiZefloor » Thu Sep 08, 2011 2:42 pm

Here we go. Let's obtain a rtas development kit for Acustica:

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?p=1833074#post1833074

We need every post we can get!!!!
noiZefloor
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 1:13 pm

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests