Login

Nebula 3 Pro in an x64 Win7/DAW environment???

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Nebula 3 Pro in an x64 Win7/DAW environment???

Postby jonwb » Tue Sep 06, 2011 5:27 am

I need some input from users running Win7 x64 with an x64 DAW. My experience with Nebula 3 (x32) has been a bit of a letdown since testing the Nebula Free x64 product. I'm wondering if I can expect noticeable load time and latency improvements using Nebula 3 Pro x64 within a total 64 bit environment like the one I have?

Thanks
jonwb
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:09 am

Re: Nebula 3 Pro in an x64 Win7/DAW environment???

Postby scooter » Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:45 am

Yes, provided your DAW is a x64 DAW and you find yourself running out of RAM before CPU.
-Scott
User avatar
scooter
Member
Member
 
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:24 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

Re: Nebula 3 Pro in an x64 Win7/DAW environment???

Postby himhui » Tue Sep 06, 2011 8:15 am

Loading time depends on that if you need to convert samplerate such as 44.1K to 96K and vice versa, or how big the sample is. As for the matter of latency, it can be reduced but simultaneously it increases the consumption of cpu resources instead.
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1074
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Nebula 3 Pro in an x64 Win7/DAW environment???

Postby richie43 » Tue Sep 06, 2011 8:44 am

Working with Nebula requires a big change of work-flow. I never use it for tracking or any low latency scenario, even with a powerful computer in a complete 64bit setting. It is a huge CPU hog, but nothing is like it in the ITB digital realm.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4866
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: Nebula 3 Pro in an x64 Win7/DAW environment???

Postby jonwb » Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:31 pm

Thank you for your responses. Ironically with my system (i7920/6GB), my CPU barely reaches 12% using all 8 cores. It's the load times that are discouraging. I'm hoping the x64 optimized Pro upgrade will at least show improvement there, and maybe improve the overall feel of the product (like Kontakt x64 did when I was able to use that).

I know it's not a lot of money, but in making the Neb3 to Neb3 Pro upgrade, I (like everyone else in this economy) wanna make sure it's money well spent.
jonwb
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2011 1:09 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BCz and 7 guests