Login

Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby david1103 » Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:06 pm

i got this in my email today, not had time to try it yet, but it could be an amazing way to turn nebula into a multiband plugin in non modular hosts like cubase. if anyone gets good results, please leave some comments:

"Dear DDMF user,

today (yes, on April 1st :-) I proudly present to you DDMF's new piece of software, the Metaplugin. It is a bit different from the current line up since it is not an effect in itself but capable of loading other VST plugins and routing/interconnecting them in all sorts of ways. Create your personal effect chains, specified to your needs, and save them so that you can quickly dial in the sound you need in future projects. Build your own custom effects by using existing plugins as building blocks! To get you started, a flat-summing 4-band crossover filter and a Mid-Side matrix plugin are included in the package. This means you can instantly create multiband and mid-side versions of just about any plugin on your harddisk!

The demo version is available on http://www.ddmf.eu and will not save effect chains. The full version is, as always with DDMF, totally overpriced and will cost you a whopping 15 $.

Limitations: Waves plugins will not load. Feedback loops are not supported. A Mac version is being worked on."
User avatar
david1103
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:26 am

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby mertayy » Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:42 pm

eheh just logged in to share the link, its no joke by the way! :D

Did a quick test with nebula (preamp, eq) and seems to be working fine (didn't crash or anything yet), I'll demo to see things further but if everything goes fine this is something huge!
mertayy
Member
Member
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:23 pm

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby Mercado_Negro » Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:06 pm

Good for non-modular hosts but it doesn't support PDC which makes unusable, for now, with Nebula.
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby TranscendingMusic » Thu Apr 01, 2010 9:43 pm

Mercado_Negro wrote:Good for non-modular hosts but it doesn't support PDC which makes unusable, for now, with Nebula.


No PDC :shock: ...ouch
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby RJHollins » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:37 am

OK ... I must ask.

What is 'PDC' ???
:?
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2626
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby giancarlo » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:52 am

it's delay compensation
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9160
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby RJHollins » Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:18 am

OK ... now I understand.

But this raises the issue, at least with the version
of NEB3 that I'm using.

PDC does NOT seem to be either working or correct
within WaveLAB.

I have noticed that each 'render' that I do with NEB
processing will cause a shift of the start/end of
audio within a file.
Before I really noticed, a track I was working on had
the ending cut-off. :oops:
Now what I do is add the WL silencer
plug to the track to extend the file length ... but
this is not an elegant solution.

What is the status of NEB's PDC ?

thanks
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2626
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby giancarlo » Fri Apr 02, 2010 10:52 am

for what I know, wavelab doesn't compensate latency. I don't know if latest version introduced a fix on this matter. It's the only steinberg product which doesn't compensate, the development team was different.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9160
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby RJHollins » Fri Apr 02, 2010 8:28 pm

giancarlo wrote:for what I know, wavelab doesn't compensate latency. I don't know if latest version introduced a fix on this matter. It's the only steinberg product which doesn't compensate, the development team was different.


According to message threads in the WaveLab forum ...
and from PG himself, there were some issues ...
There [was] a bug concerning latency compensation, that was fixed in 6.01. Maybe this is the explanation. 6.01 is ready, I just wait for Steinberg to put it on line.


This quote was from conversation about a WAVES plug-in
issue that another user reported.

WaveLab DOES have 'latency compensation' ...

As to Nebula ... I can say that something is not being
correctly reported. The more NEB's in the chain, the
more 'offset' of the audio WITHIN the audio file. To the
point where the audio file will have a larger section
of silence at the beginning ... and the 'ending' of the
audio CAN get cut off. I hope that this can be addressed.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2626
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: Metaplug - make nebula multiband and split m/s for $15 ?

Postby giancarlo » Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:05 pm

which version of wavelab are you running?
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9160
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests