Login

no sound using nebula reverb

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

no sound using nebula reverb

Postby gurth » Sun Aug 07, 2011 7:31 pm

Hello overthere,

I got a strange problem what I can't get fix.

Nebula reverb stops making noise most of the time I try to use it, it is more like it works some times for a view minutes.

Today it was working , and I changed some settings in the mast page to get the latency a bit lower, according to the tweaking the mast page 2 topic.

It was working like I wanted to, but after a view minutes I did not hear the reverb anymore I only heard the dry sound...

when I move the fx fader I hear bits of the reverb, but when I stop moving the fader the reverb is gone again.

What could I be doing wrong?

I am doing it all at 44.1 khz was using the vnxt reverb. Running w7 at 64bit a 32bit daw and enough cpu and mem power.

Somebody got an idea?
User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: no sound using nebula reverb

Postby RJHollins » Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:24 pm

check your level you send to Nebula.

There is an 'automatic' MUTE that kicks in when levels exceed.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2624
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: no sound using nebula reverb

Postby enriquesilveti » Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:29 pm

Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: no sound using nebula reverb

Postby gurth » Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:51 pm

thanks for the reply,

It isn't a level problem, I discovered it only happens when loading big programs, when I use a small room program, the room is there, but when I try to load for instance the gymnasium reverb, I hear no reverb....
User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: no sound using nebula reverb

Postby gurth » Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:09 pm

Another thing I think is stranged, I can't set the parameter Lfreqd on the mast page, higher then 0.341s. I thought this was the parameter which you can tweak if you can't hear the tail of the reverb...

I forgot the mention I use the nebula server and tried the experimental and the older ones....
User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: no sound using nebula reverb

Postby enriquesilveti » Sun Aug 07, 2011 9:29 pm

Try factory values and edit Master page by hand...

Parameter name: Frequency dimension limit
Description: This parameter defines the upper bound limit for the FREQD length. It is expressed in seconds.
MAST page name: L FREQD
Master .XML name: L FREQD
Factory value (in Master .XML): 6000000
Guru extra information: This parameter is used for optimizing the CPU load of slow systems. (Nebula non reverb version L FREQD factory value is: 0.020 s)

Parameter name: DSP buffer
Description: This parameter defines the internal DSP buffer size and it is expressed in bytes.
MAST page name: DSPBUFFER
Master .XML name: DSP BUFF
Factory value (in Master .XML): 512 or 1024
Guru extra information: Nebula detect the correct DSP buffer size on the first run depending the ASIO DSP buffer value. If Nebula deliver a choppy sound increase this value to double.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: no sound using nebula reverb

Postby gurth » Sun Aug 07, 2011 11:21 pm

Thanks very much for the help,

I uninstalled and reinstalled again, don't know what went wrong, but no worries about that....

I am happy again :D



(the lfreqd was 6 sec. by factory, but when I wanted to lower that value I could not get back to the 6sec. again, the highest value was 0.341s again like before, this time I did not save it, so I could get back to the 6 sec by deleting that instance of nebula. but I don't know why this happens... spooky
User avatar
gurth
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2010 10:48 am
Location: Holland

Re: no sound using nebula reverb

Postby enriquesilveti » Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:54 am

(the lfreqd was 6 sec. by factory, but when I wanted to lower that value I could not get back to the 6sec.


This could be a bug, please report it to support

again, the highest value was 0.341s again like before, this time I did not save it, so I could get back to the 6 sec by deleting that instance of nebula. but I don't know why this happens... spooky


Longest Nebula reverbs are 6 second, decrease LFREQD value is NOT useful at all.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests