Login

MPC Distorted

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

MPC Distorted

Postby Larrygates » Sat Jul 30, 2011 7:50 am

Messing around with NAT3 again. Did a 5Kern Template of a preamp (put an MPC4000 in INPUT mode) and overloaded the rec gain. Got the sound I wanted, let NAT3 go for about 2 hours to make the impulse.

Only one problem. I got "some" of the mojo that happens on the 4000, but I didn't get this http://snd.sc/q2iJMj
Nebula gave me back this http://snd.sc/on8VnN

Actual MPC4000 http://snd.sc/q2iJMj
Nebula 6 Kernels http://snd.sc/on8VnN

Do I need to use a compressor template? Or more Kernels for the preamp template? Or is it not possible to get all those square sounding dirty distortion?

For Giancarlo if my sampler can sample for 2 hours or more, the other one can do about 5 minutes, will I be able to actually sample the impulse NAT3 creates / thus giving me the Actual sound of the sampler in question? Thanks a lot guys.

Will think about releasing MPC3000 / 4000 for maybe 10 bux or something. Once I'm done of course, they won't all be distorted programs, although that can be dialed out with the drive knob which is nice about nebula, and really incredible if I think about it.
Larrygates
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:50 am

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby Cupwise » Mon Aug 01, 2011 1:25 pm

sampling the impulses would not work. it would, but only for the fundamental/first harmonic. so if you only wanted a 1k program, it's fine. but you have no distortion.

if you want to try the 5 minute sampler, you could do it offline. you'd have to be handy with a .wav editor, and load the .wav files generated by nat, and run however many dynamic steps as you can through in one 5 minute run, then run some more, again and again until you have them all. you'd need to think it out first, to have some kind of system/method so you could piece the small recording together into one after they were all done, and make sure they were as close to sample accurate as you can get (try adding some kind of short sound burst or something to use as a guide).

-tim
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby highvoltage » Mon Aug 01, 2011 3:40 pm

You can't achieve that much distortion yet. There was a talk about a new feature in nebula called 'microkernels' for that purpose, but i don't know if they are working on it.
highvoltage
Member
Member
 
Posts: 235
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby dpclarkson » Tue Aug 02, 2011 8:00 pm

Little OT, but if they want an 1176 to
distort correctly, they'll have to implement
support for microkernels.
I read somewhere that NAT already is supporting it,
so I'm pretty positive that these amounts of
distortion will be possible quite soon.
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby rhythminmind » Tue Aug 02, 2011 9:52 pm

Cupwise wrote:
if you want to try the 5 minute sampler, you could do it offline. you'd have to be handy with a .wav editor, and load the .wav files generated by nat, and run however many dynamic steps as you can through in one 5 minute run, then run some more, again and again until you have them all. you'd need to think it out first, to have some kind of system/method so you could piece the small recording together into one after they were all done, and make sure they were as close to sample accurate as you can get (try adding some kind of short sound burst or something to use as a guide).

-tim


+1
This is the process I used for capturing my 3000.
It's not an easy task. You have to then realign each sweep & time-stretch/compress to compensate for the differences of internal crystals. Getting the phase correct is really important.
Sampling the 4000 isn't of much merit in my eyes. It has really clean modern converters & a high resolution sampling engine. The 3000/60 is a different story.
"Any experiment of interest in life will be carried out at your own expense." http://rhythminmind.net - http://signaltonoize.com - http://popsound.com
User avatar
rhythminmind
Member
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 10:12 pm
Location: New England Transplant to Los Angeles

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby elam » Wed Aug 03, 2011 3:38 am

rhythminmind wrote:This is the process I used for capturing my 3000.


I was waiting for you to chime in... As a NAT wizard and as a mpc3000 program provider.

Eric do you have access to a 60 ? and is it on your "to sample list" ?

And just for info,is the Rat the "heaviest" distorted program of all libraries (commercial and 3rd party)?
elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby rhythminmind » Wed Aug 03, 2011 5:14 am

elam wrote:
rhythminmind wrote:This is the process I used for capturing my 3000.


I was waiting for you to chime in... As a NAT wizard and as a mpc3000 program provider.

Eric do you have access to a 60 ? and is it on your "to sample list" ?

And just for info,is the Rat the "heaviest" distorted program of all libraries (commercial and 3rd party)?


No I don't have a 60 (would love a 1st gen) I have a 3000 & a ASQ10. I haven't been able to trick myself into needing a 60 as well. :D
Not sure if RATuration is the heaviest. I have to bug "big G" again & get micro/ahd kernels sorted out. I have a few dirty devices that would be fun to capture. In the meantime I need to take a short NAT break, I've put more time into NAT then my own creative work these past few weeks. Need to balance it out a bit.
"Any experiment of interest in life will be carried out at your own expense." http://rhythminmind.net - http://signaltonoize.com - http://popsound.com
User avatar
rhythminmind
Member
Member
 
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 10:12 pm
Location: New England Transplant to Los Angeles

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby elam » Wed Aug 03, 2011 1:48 pm

rhythminmind wrote:In the meantime I need to take a short NAT break, I've put more time into NAT then my own creative work these past few weeks. Need to balance it out a bit.


I got you.You were pretty Nebula productive these last weeks.
rhythminmind wrote:No I don't have a 60 (would love a 1st gen) I have a 3000 & a ASQ10


Oh yeah for the first generation! How the ASQ sounds ? Clean ?
rhythminmind wrote:I have to bug "big G" again & get micro/ahd kernels sorted out

Please do it.If it's from you, he might put that on his priority list.
elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby Larrygates » Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:05 pm

Thanks for chiming in guys. I appreciate it.

I believe most of what you guys were saying was in regards to me "actually" sampling the impulse from NAT offline or realtime, right? The programs I've shown are just the A/D D/A of the 4000 no sampling. To respond to rhythminmind, the 4000 has a sound that is very robust (whatever that means) and has a specific character of it's own. The reason I'm sampling it's A/D D/A is because it lends itself to modern production much more so than the 3000. It has a completely diff crunch / overdrive than the 3000 (which I own also, and have a 60II and ASR10). The 4000 is a very different sound than a RME Fireface, or a 192I/O, for beat work and drums it maintains the top end and openness that the 3000 does not (when sampled that is).

Just so we're clear rhythm, my intent isn't a "colored" library that reaches back to 3000 / 60 type sound, I wanted to share with you guys what a 4000 can do to drums esp when overdriven / distorted at the A/D. It's a nice sound, and it looks like it's not possible. I did a 2 hour sample session and the program came back sounding like the inside of a box not sure what happened there. Tried using microkernels and AHD but alas I have no idea how that works in deconvolution, let alone dynamic steps etc . . . Any suggestions would be welcome, I wish I could put up the 2 hour wav file but it's 2+GB. No use.
Larrygates
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:50 am

Re: MPC Distorted

Postby ngarjuna » Wed Aug 03, 2011 8:22 pm

Larrygates wrote:Thanks for chiming in guys. I appreciate it.

I believe most of what you guys were saying was in regards to me "actually" sampling the impulse from NAT offline or realtime, right? The programs I've shown are just the A/D D/A of the 4000 no sampling. To respond to rhythminmind, the 4000 has a sound that is very robust (whatever that means) and has a specific character of it's own. The reason I'm sampling it's A/D D/A is because it lends itself to modern production much more so than the 3000. It has a completely diff crunch / overdrive than the 3000 (which I own also, and have a 60II and ASR10). The 4000 is a very different sound than a RME Fireface, or a 192I/O, for beat work and drums it maintains the top end and openness that the 3000 does not (when sampled that is).

Just so we're clear rhythm, my intent isn't a "colored" library that reaches back to 3000 / 60 type sound, I wanted to share with you guys what a 4000 can do to drums esp when overdriven / distorted at the A/D. It's a nice sound, and it looks like it's not possible. I did a 2 hour sample session and the program came back sounding like the inside of a box not sure what happened there. Tried using microkernels and AHD but alas I have no idea how that works in deconvolution, let alone dynamic steps etc . . . Any suggestions would be welcome, I wish I could put up the 2 hour wav file but it's 2+GB. No use.

How have you been, Larry? Haven't seen you on the forums in ages!
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Next

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests