Login

upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby sneaky » Sat Sep 24, 2011 1:45 am

Frustrating that an UPGRADE still means we have to manually re-configure the .xml files every time. Breaks my server-client setup every time.
Frustrating.
1.3.500a.
sneaky
Member
Member
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 7:51 am

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby RJHollins » Sat Sep 24, 2011 10:40 am

can't u just pull the 'xml' file off to the side...
do the upgrade ... then pull the xml [with your wnated
config] back into the folder.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2624
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby anttit » Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:02 am

Famousbyfive wrote:Hi
I'm currently using Neb Pro and have used jbridge to hopefully access more ram (OSx64,DAWx86,Nebx64). Many of the added benefits of neb serv appear to be regarding bridging. I was wondering if I would experience a notable increase of instances if was to upgrade to neb ser or whether I making the best of my set up already by using jbridge. Also if there is a specific thread to this already which anyone can point me in the direction of, I would be grateful. Cheers



I'm using 64-bit OS and 32-bit (Nuendo) DAW and JBridging Nebula Server plugin .499n version. I'm getting better performance via JBridge than using the Nebula server/bridge. The RAM sharing and saving is very minimal for me atleast so JBridge still getting a lot of use here.
anttit
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 5:12 pm

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby giancarlo » Sat Sep 24, 2011 11:15 am

just test new neb 3 free using a different folder/repository. We changed the main gui library, this one is based on gdi+ and it's a major upgrade
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9149
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby Famousbyfive » Sun Sep 25, 2011 1:40 pm

Thanks for your help on this. I downloaded Neb Free 1.3.500 x86 and set up a new repository folder and it worked fine so in thoery the update using the the Neb Pro x64 should work im guess. Do I need to set up a and fresh repository folder once I have fun the update? Thanks again for the help.
Famousbyfive
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:18 am

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby Famousbyfive » Sun Sep 25, 2011 3:40 pm

Ive tried Neb free 1.3.500 and could easily run 30 instances. Then Neb pro 1.3.492 and got about two before my meters starting spiking. Neb 1.3.500 seems to outperform the old version of pro I was running which is odd. Im guessing this is either down the Neb free running the core 3 system or its a problem with my system.
Famousbyfive
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:18 am

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby Famousbyfive » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:47 pm

Ive tried pretty much every combination it is definitely the upgrade which is causing the problem. Even if I install 1.3.492 x86 and then upgrade from there. If Neb free 1.3.500 works ok then in theory should the server edition work if i upgrade from pro? Thanks for the help on this one.
Famousbyfive
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:18 am

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby giancarlo » Mon Sep 26, 2011 7:46 pm

Famousbyfive wrote:Ive tried pretty much every combination it is definitely the upgrade which is causing the problem. Even if I install 1.3.492 x86 and then upgrade from there. If Neb free 1.3.500 works ok then in theory should the server edition work if i upgrade from pro? Thanks for the help on this one.

contact me...
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9149
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby Famousbyfive » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:02 pm

Emailed your gmail account. If youve changed it let me know. Cheers
Famousbyfive
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:18 am

Re: upgrading from 3 to server / installation

Postby Famousbyfive » Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:59 pm

Bought server today as I was having issues with performance. Ironically got that sorted after I had a bought it but not before I had installed the upgrade.

Happy now whatever as Ive got neb running smoothly but figured Id take a look at the server edition as ive just spent out for it.

When I run the upgrade i get message that says

Error opening file for writing

C:\Windows\system32\ippcore-7.0.ll

Has anyone else encountered this, got round it? Giancarlo has been helping me with other issues before the upgrade so figured Id give him a break
Famousbyfive
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 12:18 am

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron