Login

Nebula crackles with Protools

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby wakevortex » Tue Jun 21, 2011 12:45 pm

Protools already does VERY good delay compensation (I use pt HD ) it always has been great..
No DAW can cope with over 2 SECONDS of latency..thats just crazy numbers :_)

PT10 is not the answer to this problem :-)
wakevortex
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby steve36 » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:35 pm

I don't know if this is practical for you or not, but you might like to investigate using Reaper to host Nebula via Rearoute into Protools...I am running my DSP BUFFER at 8192 in Reaper with no problems.

Steve
steve36
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby buattipaso » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:57 pm

I use Motu Digital Performer last version (7.2) and can handle 2048 dsp buffer with any kind of latency issue. I use up to 20 nebula istances running with 2048 dsp buffer and never a trouble. Give it a try, really a good alternative to protools, and you can still use your pt hardware aswell. Paso
buattipaso
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:58 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby wakevortex » Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:32 pm

Thats all very interesting..im a bit confused..
surely a DSP buffer of 8192 introduces a delay of 8 seconds into the DAW playback? how can that not be a problem..Im clearly not getting this LOL! I could look at hosting it externally with a bridge of some kind (im not about to change DAW) but I cant see how that kind of delay wont be a showstopper...maybe someone can explain !

thnx

Bill P
wakevortex
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby buattipaso » Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:46 pm

Digital Performer, among many others, as the ability to introduce a "latency plugin compensation".
Every plugin has its own "dsp buffer" latency. The daw can interact with that plugin send to that plugin the signal in advance to compensate the dsp latency. So if you have Nebula running at 2048, the daw will send the signal to Nebula with 2048 samples in advance. This is called "latency plugin compensation" In Digital Performer works like a charm.
buattipaso
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2011 3:58 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby steve36 » Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:01 pm

buattipaso wrote:Digital Performer, among many others, as the ability to introduce a "latency plugin compensation".
Every plugin has its own "dsp buffer" latency. The daw can interact with that plugin send to that plugin the signal in advance to compensate the dsp latency. So if you have Nebula running at 2048, the daw will send the signal to Nebula with 2048 samples in advance. This is called "latency plugin compensation" In Digital Performer works like a charm.


Just like buattipaso says...I just pump the latency up to whatever I want, as many times as I want,on whatever I want and Reaper compensates...no problems whatsoever...

Steve
steve36
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby giancarlo » Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:03 pm

wakevortex wrote:Thats all very interesting..im a bit confused..
surely a DSP buffer of 8192 introduces a delay of 8 seconds into the DAW playback? how can that not be a problem..Im clearly not getting this LOL! I could look at hosting it externally with a bridge of some kind (im not about to change DAW) but I cant see how that kind of delay wont be a showstopper...maybe someone can explain !

thnx

Bill P


in nebula a 8192 values means a delay of about 16000, which is 1/3 of a second @44100, and 1/6 @96000 Hz
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9157
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby steve36 » Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:04 pm

If you host Nebula in Reaper it should compensate for any delay before going into 'Tools...your best source of info for running Reaper into Pro Tools would be 'Shan' on the DUC...

Steve
steve36
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby wakevortex » Wed Jun 22, 2011 5:28 pm

aaaah..that answer from Giancarlo explains it then ..8192 is only a third of a second, not EIGHT seconds :_) In that case I will try that value..protools happily compensates on "long "setting to 4095 samples per channel so lets see... thanks for all your replies

bp
wakevortex
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:38 pm

Re: Nebula crackles with Protools

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Jun 24, 2011 6:33 am

PT HD 8.xx and all PTs 9.xx compensate only 4096 samples. So at Nebula DSPBUFFER 2048 you can load only 2 per channel insert point, on the next one Nebula instance loaded PT will not compensate and might be done by hand this is a usual scenario for PT LE 7/8 user, we will updating Pt LE 8 to 9 ASAP.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kralijcek and 2 guests