Login

incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby giancarlo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:07 pm

Ok, I didn't announce officially, but I uploaded an experimental version for nebula server users. Obviously don't upgrade if you are in the middle of an important mixing session.
Remember you could use this version without running the server, and memory footprint should be reduced. It's based on intel ipp 7.0 too. I fixed the bypass led too. Server version (NebulaServerWin) starts using the client xml descriptor if you run in local mode. Too many things ;) be careful
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby ngarjuna » Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:16 pm

Let me see if I have this straight:

Core3, the new engine enhancements, have been rolled into the Server package.

After upgrading to Server, assuming you just wanted the new Core3 tech, you could essentially ignore the Server application and continue running Nebula as a hosted instance (just like now). This includes the memory sharing feature.

The server application itself is really the precursor to dedicated Nebula servers (for those who will go that direction) and instances via LAN (I guess I'm still not understanding the purpose of localserver)?

Does that sound about right?
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby giancarlo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:24 pm

yes
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby Arne » Tue Jun 21, 2011 3:37 pm

Initial test with AlexB 4KD in Samplitude 11.2. 32 bit requires approx. 60 MB per instance. Drag and drop causes Samplitude to crash after 8-10 instances, but if I do it slow it seem to work. Reaper does not seem to handle the new Nebula library sharing very well, RAM uses is way bigger than in Samplitude, but you can see the same in Reaper as well, 32bit Nebula requires far less RAM than 64 bit.
I have not tested performances, just monitored RAM usage.
Arne
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 10:31 pm
Location: Bergen, Norway

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby mathias » Tue Jun 21, 2011 3:41 pm

(I guess I'm still not understanding the purpose of localserver)?


in 32 bit systems, you can use more ram, when the system has more.
example: before i had a limit around 1.2 gb of usable ram.
now i can go nearly up to 2.6 gb in my system (4 gb ram installed), with my 32bit os.

mathias
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2116
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby giancarlo » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:00 pm

Arne wrote:Initial test with AlexB 4KD in Samplitude 11.2. 32 bit requires approx. 60 MB per instance. Drag and drop causes Samplitude to crash after 8-10 instances, but if I do it slow it seem to work. Reaper does not seem to handle the new Nebula library sharing very well, RAM uses is way bigger than in Samplitude, but you can see the same in Reaper as well, 32bit Nebula requires far less RAM than 64 bit.
I have not tested performances, just monitored RAM usage.


what is shared memory and local memory for each instance? read it in disk page of neb. The thing about crashes is interesting, but it could be fixed. I need more details, for example are you able to replicate it in reaper? because I don't have samplitude.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby ngarjuna » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:10 pm

mathias wrote:
(I guess I'm still not understanding the purpose of localserver)?


in 32 bit systems, you can use more ram, when the system has more.
example: before i had a limit around 1.2 gb of usable ram.
now i can go nearly up to 2.6 gb in my system (4 gb ram installed), with my 32bit os.

mathias


Ah, gotcha, thanks Mathias!
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby tbentley » Tue Jun 21, 2011 4:39 pm

does the 990x i7 take advantage of this update.
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby steve36 » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:10 pm

I am testing this update now in Reaper (x64) on Win7 Pro 64 and so far so good...only issue I've come across so far is that the name doesn't display in the fx browser...just VST: and a blank space where the name used to be.Name displays ok in projects where an instance is already loaded...new instances show as blank (even though Nebula loads normally).

Steve
steve36
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 2:48 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby himhui » Tue Jun 21, 2011 5:18 pm

tbentley wrote:does the 990x i7 take advantage of this update.


Ram used is reduced(7.2G=>6.8G whole system), performance drops a bit. I roll back to 495 first and wait for next update.
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.29 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests