Login

incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby giancarlo » Fri Jul 29, 2011 9:42 pm

I need to know how much greater is. I'll teach a way for enabling again multithreading but current setting is ok for most users. We can't please everyone this time
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9195
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby misterambient » Fri Jul 29, 2011 10:14 pm

elam wrote:Do you still render your tracks with 24gb of RAM ?

Are you able to run a full mixing or production session without Nebula instance limitations ?

What's your CPU power futur2 ?


I'm wondering what is today's Nebula RAM limits with most recent computer setups ?


Just tested this on my office computer with everything else running (mail, internet, virus scanner etc) and compared version n to the stable 1.3.495. I am running windows 64 bit, everything 64 bit, 96 kHz programs src'd to 44.1, on a Core i5 760 with 6 GB RAM. 13 instances of Nebula; a console, some eq's, compression and the tape combo. This is just the ''mastering stage''. Dsp is 8192, prog rate is 1.0, offset is 1.5. Using only the reverb version, except 1 regular version for the Zodiac compressor (which needs a higher cnv rate to src from 96 to 44.1 btw).

First time I loaded, after installing the n version project took 2 x as much time to load, with 0,5 Gig more RAM. CPU is exactly the same as before (with version 1.3.495). 2nd time I load the project it is 20% faster, same RAM as before, only now, the 4 cpu cores are not equally balanced (core 1 less, core 3 more). Sound is different, also.

Third time I loaded the project things are balanced now, same amount of cpu as before, project loads in 25 seconds, that's 20% better than with the old Nebula. More important: it is snappier, has more punch, big transients are better (low bass), maybe slightly more compression.
Also, no more stutter when bypassing or tweaking stuff when the music is running, and less cpu spike when starting.

I'll do some testing with my i7 970 12 Gb RAM monster, which is dedicated to music only and where the real action is going on asap. Big 50 track projects @ 96 kHz with a dspbuffer of 2048 and 5 Nebula's per track without rendering and with proper vsti / midi response would be cool - but, to answer your question elam, the workflow is allright, and not interfering with creativity, even with version 1.3.495.
User avatar
misterambient
User Level V
User Level V
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:11 am
Location: The Netherlandz

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby tbentley » Fri Jul 29, 2011 10:52 pm

I was using about 20 nebula instance and my cpu was around 80%. Now all my cores are at 97%. I have the i7 2600k
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby Mercado_Negro » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:28 am

tbentley wrote:I was using about 20 nebula instance and my cpu was around 80%. Now all my cores are at 97%. I have the i7 2600k


What? an i7 2600k and only 20 instances? That sounds BAD :( That's more or less the same amount of instances I can use in my projects and I have an i5 first generation. There must be something wrong with your configuration (or the whole "excitement for these new 2600K's" is pure drama... sigh, just when I was thinking on getting one).
i7 3770k :: Asus P8H77-V LE :: 16Gb DDR3 @1600MHz :: Geforce GT 520 :: OCZ-Vertex 128Gb :: WD Black Series 1Tb and Green Series 1Tb :: F*******e Liquid56 :: REAPER 64bit and StudioOne 64bit (both latest versions) :: Win 10 64bit
User avatar
Mercado_Negro
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 1353
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 9:30 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby TranscendingMusic » Sat Jul 30, 2011 12:47 am

Yea something is off there... tbently you are sure you aren't running "NebulaServerWin.exe" while opening instances of Nebula in your DAW correct?
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby misterambient » Sat Jul 30, 2011 2:12 am

Mercado_Negro wrote:
tbentley wrote:I was using about 20 nebula instance and my cpu was around 80%. Now all my cores are at 97%. I have the i7 2600k


What? an i7 2600k and only 20 instances? That sounds BAD :( That's more or less the same amount of instances I can use in my projects and I have an i5 first generation. There must be something wrong with your configuration (or the whole "excitement for these new 2600K's" is pure drama... sigh, just when I was thinking on getting one).


Don't worry they are good, and cheap. ADK Pro Audio is using them too. Dsp buffer must be extremely low or something.

13 instances of Nebula alone and running on the i5 while writing this post is 15% cpu btw.
User avatar
misterambient
User Level V
User Level V
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:11 am
Location: The Netherlandz

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby elam » Sat Jul 30, 2011 2:23 am

Thanks for the infos misterambient (I had miss your post).

That's really informative... I was even thinking of a bigger config.build around a server (physical not Nebula server), loaded with the maximum CPU and RAM power you can get today.


But that the wrong thread for that so I let people discuss about the new Neb. releases.
elam
Vip Member
Vip Member
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat May 15, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby tbentley » Sat Jul 30, 2011 2:44 am

should i not be running server?
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby tbentley » Sat Jul 30, 2011 2:52 am

Hey giancarlo
My bad nebula is working good. 17% cpu, Its playing back from a hardrive. Put it on my solid state and its playing normal now.
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: incredible 1.3.498 on the path (Core3 engine)

Postby RJHollins » Sat Jul 30, 2011 3:23 am

Alright GANG ... maybe this is the wrong thread ... if so, maybe someone kindly redirect me ... THANKS!

OK ... whether it works or not [hope it does], I just HAD to get behind this SERVER idea by UPGRADING from NEBULA3PRO to the server edition.

Sure, I probably shoulda did the free test and all, but I have faith in the work going into this product.

Question is: WHICH version should I download from the server list in 'MY DOWNLOAD' section. I'm running XP-32bit. Do I just download 'EXPERIMENTAL Upgrade Nebula3 Server WIN x86 1.3.499n' ??

Second ... [and VERY IMPORTANT].

I have MANY projects that use NEB3Pro ... aright, alot of projects :shock: Now, I CAN'T loss any of those configurations or presets that I used.

When I 'upgrade' ... do I STILL have NEB3Pro ????
Does the upgrade just supply a NEW named version [and ID number] of a NEBULA ????

Then ... do we do the same 'apply for ser#' like we did at the start?

Not downloading/installing anything did I hear back!!!

THANKS GANG!!!!!!!!
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2631
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BCz and 8 guests