Login

more cuda fun

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

more cuda fun

Postby savvy@durango.net » Mon May 30, 2011 11:31 pm

Trying to get Cuda tooklit 4.0 and new cudabridge to work.

Running latest Nebula (1.3.492) on both server and clients. Running latest cuda downloads.

I have server set to automatically start on boot. When it would start I would get an error that file cudart64-40-12 wasn't installed. Also When trying to run "where is my cuda", I was getting an error that the file cudart64-40-12 wasn't installed.

Looked in Cuda toolkit bin folder and found file cudart64-40-17. File date May 13. Copied that file and renamed it to cudart64-40-12.

Now "where is my cuda" grumbling about cufft64_40_12. Did same to that file. Now "where is my cuda" finding cuda and saying that it is opening an instance correctly.

However, I can't get the nebula cuda instance to take any the ofreqd setting for ANY of the cuda settings(12,13,14,or 15). I'm getting a flashing exclamation point (!), and it won't save the setting when changed from the master section. Also the .xml for the cuda instance is already set to ofreqd 15.

Does Cudabridge need to be updated to reflect the newest toolkit files (May 13)?
I7-2600, 16Gb RAM host machine
I7-875K, 16Gb RAM slave machine
Win 7 64 bit
Cubase 6 64 bit
VE Pro 5
Lynx Aurora 8 lightpiped into Fireface 800
savvy@durango.net
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:52 pm

Re: more cuda fun

Postby mathias » Tue May 31, 2011 1:24 am

for the latest nebula (492) i had to update cudabridge to the newest version, to get it to work.

look here and download the appropriate one (you can see on nebulas disk-page which version you have installed):
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

good luck,
mathias
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2114
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: more cuda fun

Postby savvy@durango.net » Tue May 31, 2011 2:09 am

This is the same the version (1.1.037 64 bit) I downloaded and installed after uninstalling the old cudabridge using the uninstaller in the nebularepository folder. The new version says it was modified May 18.

The disk page doesn't even show that there is a bridge, it's saying N/A.

Out of curiosity, did you download your version of cuda toolkit before May 13, and/or does your toolkit bin folder show cudart64_40_12, of cudart64_40_17?

thanks
I7-2600, 16Gb RAM host machine
I7-875K, 16Gb RAM slave machine
Win 7 64 bit
Cubase 6 64 bit
VE Pro 5
Lynx Aurora 8 lightpiped into Fireface 800
savvy@durango.net
User Level II
User Level II
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:52 pm

Re: more cuda fun

Postby Vernon » Tue May 31, 2011 10:23 am

Try this version of toolkit:

http://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-toolkit-40rc2

Vernon
Vernon
User Level III
User Level III
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 3:27 pm
Location: Torino - Italy

Re: more cuda fun

Postby mathias » Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:33 am

savvy@durango.net wrote:This is the same the version (1.1.037 64 bit) I downloaded and installed after uninstalling the old cudabridge using the uninstaller in the nebularepository folder. The new version says it was modified May 18.

The disk page doesn't even show that there is a bridge, it's saying N/A.

Out of curiosity, did you download your version of cuda toolkit before May 13, and/or does your toolkit bin folder show cudart64_40_12, of cudart64_40_17?

thanks



oh sorry, i am on mac osx :roll:

did not read your systemspecs.

but my mac osx cudatoolkit is two or three months old.

mathias
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2114
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: more cuda fun

Postby giancarlo » Wed Jun 01, 2011 6:02 am

You can't rename it. You need exactly 4.12
Being rc versions they change frequently ,we'll release new updates
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9173
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: more cuda fun

Postby giancarlo » Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:04 am

about cuda please be patient. We are currently working on it. Windows side was released in order to test
version 4.0, on mac osx we have serious issues (for example my mac book pro can't run cuda 4.0 at all, so there are issues on nvidia side/installers/drivers and we can't release things asking to our userbase to "sudo" things here and there). We are developing PURECUDA, a solution for running the whole nebula engine on cuda. I'm even learning ptx, the cuda assembler/assembly language, in order to optimize small sections of code.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9173
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: more cuda fun

Postby Puranon » Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:06 am

What is the toolkit version we are supposed to be using with the .037 Cudabridge?
Puranon
User Level X
User Level X
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2010 3:20 pm

Re: more cuda fun

Postby giancarlo » Thu Jun 02, 2011 10:23 am

Puranon wrote:What is the toolkit version we are supposed to be using with the .037 Cudabridge?

4.12
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9173
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests