Login

Using Nebula on a MAc

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Using Nebula on a MAc

Postby jcourtial » Sun May 22, 2011 4:41 pm

Hi there,
Sorry for the dummy question, I'm a newbie as you can tell...
I've bought the dmd samples and comes with it a few DMD FX files that I apparently need Nebula to use.
I've downloaded the free version, run the installer, which worked fine. Then what? I have a nebulaservermacfree application that doesn't really do anything. No files copied in the VST folder.
Not sure what to do now and can't find the answer anywhere.
Help!
Thanks a million. J
jcourtial
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 1:10 am

Re: Using Nebula on a MAc

Postby enriquesilveti » Sun May 22, 2011 6:43 pm

You should move N2V files to vector folder and N2P files to program folder both inside Nebula folder, there is more information in our web FAQ and you can contact Tonebuilder for customer support.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Using Nebula on a MAc

Postby jcourtial » Sun May 22, 2011 9:41 pm

Thanks Enrique.

I'd love to do that, but there is no nebula folder. The installer just creates an app, there is no folder where to put them.

I have spend quite a lot of time reading through the forum and FAQ and couldn't find the answer. I'm new, but not lazy ;-)
jcourtial
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 1:10 am

Re: Using Nebula on a MAc

Postby mathias » Mon May 23, 2011 12:11 am

there should be a nebula.dll in the vst-folder or a nebula.component in the component-folder (au) in your library/audio/plugins.
did you check it in the library of your user-account or in the "main"-library ?

in library/audio/presets/acusticaaudio, there is a folder for nebula, where all the programs and samples (vectors) are stored. this is where you have to put your program (n2p) and vector (n2v) files.

then open your daw and insert nebula as plugin (vst or au, the one you find). you should be able to see the program, by clicking on INIT, which opens the browser for programs.

good luck, come back here if you need more help,
mathias

p.s. one more thing: nebula reverb introduces a big latency, if you want to work in realtime, you need to take nebula (without reverb in the name)
system 1: windows 8 32 bit - samplitude prox, tracktion6, reaper
system 2: mac osx yosemite - reaper(32+64bit), tracktion6(32+64bit)

both systems on: macbook pro (late 2009), core 2 duo 3,06 ghz, 4 gb ram, graphic: nvidia geforce 9600M GT 512 MB
mathias
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2114
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:25 am
Location: South-West Germany

Re: Using Nebula on a MAc

Postby jcourtial » Mon May 23, 2011 8:12 pm

Thanks Mathias, very kind of you.

I had checked earlier. There is nothing in my library/audio/plugins/vst
nothing in the components, nothing in the presets. I mean nothing at all, no nebula folder, no nebula files.

I don't understand, it installs fine (Nebula3freeinstaller), 350MB of it.
But doesn't seem to do anything.

I feel like I'm missing something!
jcourtial
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 1:10 am

Re: Using Nebula on a MAc

Postby giancarlo » Mon May 23, 2011 8:42 pm

if nebula appears, it means that the folder is not empty.
Check the
/Library/Audio/Presets/AcusticaAudio/Nebula (data path)
and
/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/VST
/Library/Audio/Plug-ins/Components


Please note there are "few" "Library" folders in your computer. We are speaking about the main one, so the one located in your main HDD.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9171
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Using Nebula on a MAc

Postby jcourtial » Mon May 23, 2011 10:50 pm

hahaha. Got it. I knew i was missing something! I didn't know the harddrive had a library.

One day I will laugh at someone doing the exact same thing. And I will go to bed a little bit less stupid tonight.

Thanks a million guys.
jcourtial
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 22, 2011 1:10 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests