Login

16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby Larrygates » Sun Apr 25, 2010 4:16 am

Using Reaper win xp 32

Anyone know why on the 17 instance of Neb Reverb the DAW crashes everytime? I have AlexB free TFT running as a console. But everytime on the 17 instance nebula crashes reaper?

Wonder what's happening. Only up to 60% of Q6600.
Larrygates
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:50 am

Re: 16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby himhui » Sun Apr 25, 2010 6:37 am

Does it exceed 4G memory

?
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: 16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby Larrygates » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:13 pm

About 1.46 GB used in System Monitor. Maybe 2GB used for system (windows XP 32) and that 1.46 is my limit? I thought I should be able to go up to 3GB on the system monitor.

I'm using the AlexB free TFT bundle and a couple other EQs. All Neb Reverb. 17 instance = crash?

Anyone know if my system says 1.46GB used what the problem could be?

himhui wrote:Does it exceed 4G memory

?
Larrygates
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:50 am

Re: 16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby Grim » Mon Apr 26, 2010 3:42 pm

I thought I should be able to go up to 3GB on the system monitor


Unfortunately not.....1.4 to 1.7Gb seem to be the most quoted limits.
Are you using the 3Gb switch?....This might give you a little more.

For the TFT console emu, you can always pre-render all your audio with the input programs so you only need the master plus a few groups to mix through.
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: 16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby Larrygates » Mon Apr 26, 2010 6:25 pm

Thanks, I was thinking that was the cause.

So 1.46 would be the limit since the OS is taking up the other 2GB on it's own. That makes sense. I'm not using the 3GB switch. I'm scared to, heard it causes instability.

Should I make the switch to x64 now and just abandon the plugs that don't work there (waves).

Also, should I go ahead and go corei7 or should my q6600 be great with x64 and TONS of nebula?

Grim wrote:
I thought I should be able to go up to 3GB on the system monitor


Unfortunately not.....1.4 to 1.7Gb seem to be the most quoted limits.
Are you using the 3Gb switch?....This might give you a little more.

For the TFT console emu, you can always pre-render all your audio with the input programs so you only need the master plus a few groups to mix through.
Larrygates
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:50 am

Re: 16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby Larrygates » Mon Apr 26, 2010 8:25 pm

Something's not making sense. On my work computer, I see that RAM use is about 1.56GB.

Where should this number cap? At 3GB or 1.xGB?
Larrygates
User Level 0
User Level 0
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 5:50 am

Re: 16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby Grim » Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:02 pm

Not sure on the answer to your second question but I don't think there's anything too odd about this difference..the limit seems to vary between 1.4 & 1.7 as I said before.

Regarding your former post, note that you don't necessarily need to abandon 32 bit plugs if you still use a 32 bit host in your 64 bit o/s...that should still let you use up to 4Gb just for Nebula.

Your Q6600 would probably work pretty well if you up your ram but you said you were on 60% cpu already & an i7 would give you the extra grunt you might need if you start using some of the heavy 3rd party programs.

I'm pretty much set up to test my new i7 system now so hope to be able to post some figures on how this is working for me soon....I've stayed with 32 bit host as I use Duende a lot which doesn't support 64 bit yet. Going to try 32bit Neb with no bridging first & then with jbridge & if still not happy will try bridging to 64bit Nebula.
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: 16 Nebula vst 17 = crash

Postby Grim » Mon Apr 26, 2010 11:39 pm

OK....First test results...possibly the last as I'm surprised how good these are & as I pre render my inputs & tapes this would be enough Nebs for me. :)

Hope this is useful info for someone.

Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 with 12Gb Ram. 9500GT graphics but no CUDA. (Put together by Scan computers in UK).
Win7 home premium 64bit
Cubase 5.1. TC Konnekt 24D f/w at 1024 samples.
Nebula 32 bit. No bridging just straight install.

Nebula Reverb tweaked to DSP Buffer 2048 for less latency (so more cpu used) Rate CNV is at 3496.

Programs:
AlexB CLC mic in (Unfortunately waiting on a new authorisation for my MBCPro)
R2R Studer
Tape Boost plus TapeSat 1/4 db
CLC Buss Group Clean
Doc Fear Combo EQ


No other plugs or VSTi...all tracks 24 bit stereo audio at 44.1k.

I inserted all 5 plugs on channel 1 of a 20 track project & copied them to each channel until I maxed out. Checked playback & stop while taking CPU reading from Windows Task Manager.

10 channels, 50 instances everything is smooth with Ram use at 3.66Gb & CPU peaking at 89%. DAW response still very good.

11 Channels, 55 instances slightly slower loading of plugs but still running fine at 3.87Gb & CPU peaking at 92%.
DAW respons surprisingly still very good.

12 channels, 58 instances, 3.97Gb & CPU peaking at 98%. I'd cartainly avoid this sort of loading in a real project, but amazingly it still worked very well except for a very slightly slower response to controls.

12 channels, 60 instances 4.1Gb & CPU now hitting 100% & causing drop outs, Cubase still surprisingly well behaved, no crash or GUI problems....really surprised this can work at all!

After saving the song with the safe 55 instance reload time was a fairly painless 95 seconds.

To put these figures into perspective Cubase is notoriously resource hungry & on my Q6600 & 32bit XP I've never managed to open more than about 10 of these programs in a project.
Other host (Reaper) would probably do better.

I'm well chuffed...thought I'd be messing about with bridging & tweaking settings for weeks to get results like this :mrgreen:
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests