Login

automation issue with reaper

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

automation issue with reaper

Postby Cupwise » Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:19 pm

here's a weird one. i'm using reaper, and an LP filter program in Nebula (my own filter from my last release). i have several parameters being automated- cutoff, resonance, the output level, and even trim. the weird thing is that it sounds fine when i listen to it live. after i render the track though, i listen to it and the cutoff automation is 'steppy' in places with fast filter sweeps. it's definitely not like this when listening live.

i've tried changing prog rate, liquidity, all sorts of things to no effect. those things shouldn't matter anyway because like i said, it sounds fine (smooth) live. anyone have any idea what's going on here?

-tim
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: automation issue with reaper

Postby enriquesilveti » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:46 am

Hello Tim. Reaper support has Nebula NFR license. First we must know if it is a Nebula issue or Reaper issue. I have Reaper NFR license so I can test if you send me the emulation preset and the Reaper session.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: automation issue with reaper

Postby Cupwise » Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:00 pm

on a hunch i tried an 'online' render, and that gives me the same smooth filter sweeps i hear when i play back live. offline render still gives steppy ones.
so this is a 'solution', but obviously not the best one.
sent pm to enrique...
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: automation issue with reaper

Postby richie43 » Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:01 pm

Hey Tim. Check this out in your Reaper install. Some plugins NEED to be informed of their offline state while doing offline rendering, others can't be informed.... so mess with that setting. I am a Reaper user, and I have gotten accustomed to doing all of my renders online anyway. I hear a subtle quality difference. But that is probably the setting that you need to address. Good luck!
Attachments
Offline FX.png
Offline FX.png (41.96 KiB) Viewed 371 times
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 4868
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: automation issue with reaper

Postby Cupwise » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:27 pm

thanks richie! it looks like you might have solved it for me! i'm still pretty new to reaper...

i'll check it out and see if that fixes it, and report back, when i have time.
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest