Login

32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby Grim » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:14 am

I am just convinced that this is caused by something simple that we are merely missing right now.


Sadly it seems not....I just installed the Reaper trials & the transfer from 32 to 64 worked perfectly with no change to the Nebula instances.

Damn you Steinberg!
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby richie43 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:42 am

I was right then... it is simple and obvious that it's time for you to investigate changing over to Reaper...... Sorry sir! :lol:
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 4846
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby RJHollins » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:44 am

?Question?

Are you certain that Cubase is scanning the correct VST location ??? The same as Reaper ?

maybe no help ... just offering ideas.
i7-5820k, MSI X99A Plus, 16 GIG Ram, Noctua NH-D14, Win-7 Pro [64-bit], Reaper-64

NVC [Nebula Virtual Controllers]
RJHollins
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 2623
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 5:53 pm

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby richie43 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 6:53 am

I asked the same thing. But maybe again this is one of those obvious questions that needs to be repeated. This kind of stuff IS very annoying, especially when it seems to be with a singular DAW software, maybe even a singular computer. But my life became so much easier (and more productive) after spending time to learn Reaper. Huge liberation. Either way, keep us posted about this, and good luck.
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 4846
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby Grim » Wed Jun 20, 2012 12:46 pm

Yes...I've checked in the cold light of day & I'm certain that my setup is correct.

Just out of interest...I notice with Reaper that before messing with Neb instances even with the different names as installed the Nebula3 Reverb saved in 32bit will open Nebula3CoreII64 in 64 bit.

It's a little annoying that I was still up & desperately trying to fix this at 4 in the morning when it was a bug of some kind but there you go....I should have tested another DAW earlier.

It's really not the end of the world...unless Acustica has any great ideas to fix this I plan to bridge the 32bits so I can open existing projects, but also have the 64bits with tweaked naming so I can start using the 64bit vs.
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby enriquesilveti » Wed Jun 20, 2012 1:10 pm

x86/x64 versions share the same VST ID (MAGIC tag in master .XML page). Some sequencer looks VST/VSTi by the real name but other by the VST ID. Please contact your sequencer support.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby Grim » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:19 pm

My "Magic" Id's are actuall different between 32 & 64 bit as this was how they installed, but it was my understanding there is a hard coded ID that the DAW uses & this "magic" one was more for Nebulas own reference.

I tried changing one to match but still no go.

Just to confuse things further I should perhaps mention that there are also Neb Server (exe) xml files in Nebtemprepositry/server & on these the 32 & 64 magic ID matches & they are both the same as my 32 bit instance xmls.

That said, I am not attempting to run server.

Thanks everyone for your help.
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby richie43 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 2:47 pm

Have you tried a complete uninstall/reinstall of all Nebula's?
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 4846
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby Grim » Wed Jun 20, 2012 5:14 pm

Just tried this and even with Neb3 pro setup only installed (no server update) Cubase doesn't replace 32 bit with 64 bit....Reaper does though I did need to change the name to match this time.

I'm stumped....would appreciate it if Giancarlo could confirm absolutely that the 1.3.492 or 1.3.504 IDs are the same for 32 & 64 bit or if anyone else can let me know if they have this working on Steinberg host.
Grim
Member
Member
 
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:30 pm

Re: 32 bit to 64 bit project transfer.

Postby richie43 » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:07 pm

This is a long shot, since it seems to be a Steinberg issue and not totally a Nebula issue.... Have you tried installing ONLY the 64bit version of Nebual and ensuring that the dll and xml names are identical to the 32bit? Maybe if it has no choice it will load correctly...?
The Sounds of the Hear and Now
http://soundyaudio.com/
richie43
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 4846
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 8:47 pm
Location: Minnesota, USA

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests