Login

2nd machine for more processing power with Nebula

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

2nd machine for more processing power with Nebula

Postby mitch » Thu Apr 07, 2011 1:38 pm

Hi!
I am a sound engineer 8-) , not a computer tech :geek: so I'd like to ask some questions:
I want to:
-be able to have a good amount of processing power
-have a system which loads pre-sets fast enough

So I decided to have a second machine in my studio which would be a kind of effect rack besides my daw machine(somehow like in the analogue way).

My questions:
1)what hard ware:
Should I go for the fastest processor available by Intel (i7 I believe) or is there any compatibility issue with this one?
Is there anything better/faster?
Is it right that I should add as much memory as possible?

2)which OS:
To have a good nebula machine, should I choose preferably W7-32bits, W764bits, xp sp3?
I think there is a difference in the ability of the 32bits version to use all of the memory beyond 4GB, right?

3)audio inter-connection: I am regarding forward to use an adat connection between the two machines.
Is there any easy and stable way (I AM NOT A COMPUTER TECH! ;) )to do so with an asio related Rj45 server inter-connection?
Or is it possible to do so with a firewire inter-connection?
Is there a bandwidth issue if I do so?

4)which daw:for this task I need a host daw for Nebula that tells me exactly the latency it has, and that is light enough to let Nebula use as much CPU of the computer as possible.
Saw studio or reaper are interesting!
Any thoughts?

5)latency: Except the buffer settings, is there a setting that could help keeping latency low, while the performance is high?

Thank you and best regards, sound fanatics!

Mitch
mitch
User Level IV
User Level IV

Re: 2nd machine for more processing power with Nebula

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Apr 07, 2011 7:31 pm

I want to:
-be able to have a good amount of processing power
-have a system which loads pre-sets fast enough