Login

AHCI might improve your performance.

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby tbentley » Sat Apr 02, 2011 5:33 pm

I had sub par performance with my hdds and my i7. I turned on AHCI on in the bios. My performance increase dramatically.

Here's a link how to activate in windows 7. Make sure you configure your OS first.


http://www.sevenforums.com/hardware-dev ... s-7-a.html
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby tbentley » Sun Apr 03, 2011 12:22 pm

Also make sure you reinstall your cpu drivers.
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby enriquesilveti » Sun Apr 03, 2011 9:07 pm

Yes! AHCI improve HDD performance.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby yr » Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:24 am

Some ssd's don't support AHCI officially and could become unstable when switched from IDE. In any case, if you are trying to switch and your system is installed on an ssd, you may need to make some registry changes before you change it in the bios. I found the following guide from OCZ: http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/forum ... stallation
Reuven | post-production & sound-design | scenography |
website | nebula presets
User avatar
yr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby Mplay » Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:38 am

When I read the topic title I thought this was some kind of * spam :D
Mplay
Member
Member
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby tbentley » Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:01 pm

lol

Yr thanks for that, im going to put a ssd in comp tommorrow. I hope that it works with achi.
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby yr » Tue Apr 05, 2011 8:42 am

I think you need to edit the registry only if you already have windows installed on an ssd and you are trying to switch to AHCI. If you are just adding a (non-system) ssd drive or making a fresh windows installation (after already changing the bios) you probably don't need to make any changes in the registry.
Reuven | post-production & sound-design | scenography |
website | nebula presets
User avatar
yr
Beta Tester
Beta Tester
 
Posts: 438
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 9:04 am
Location: Amsterdam

Re: AHCI might improve your performance.

Postby tbentley » Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:05 pm

You don't need to mess with registry. Make sure you have have ahci turned on in the bios. When you install windows will automaticaly configure for you. I set up my SSD card today and no problem so far.
tbentley
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 176
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2011 8:17 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: artw and 9 guests