Login

More Sample Rate Conversion

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

More Sample Rate Conversion

Postby justinmorell » Tue Mar 29, 2011 4:56 am

I know that SRC has been addressed quite a lot on this forum, but I'm still unclear on a few things. I am a new Nebula 3 Pro user, and trying to get a handle on this:

I have some mixes already at 48k, which I will ultimately need to convert to 44.1k. I have Sample Manager, which I know does a very good job with SRC. I'm trying to figure out the best option for mastering with 96k Nebula programs out of the few choices I can imagine:

1) keep the tracks at 48k for mastering, let Nebula do the SRC for the processing (48 to 96 back to 48), and then convert the final masters to 44.1k, or

2) convert the tracks to 44.1k in Sample Manager BEFORE Nebula processing, let Nebula do the SRC from 44.1 to 96k and back (this involves the same number of SRC instances as above, but avoids a POST-mastering SRC back to 44.1k), or

3) convert the tracks from 48k to 96k so that Nebula avoids a SRC at all, and then do the conversion from 96 to 44.1 after the mastering.

Any ideas would be much appreciated, especially in so far as the SRC conversion inside the Nebula engine compares to something like Sample Manager (iZotope).

Thanks!
--Justin

Mac Mini 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
OS X v. 10.6.4
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

Running Logic Pro 9
Nebula 3 Pro
justinmorell
User Level 0
User Level 0

Re: More Sample Rate Conversion

Postby mathias » Tue Mar 29, 2011 10:20 pm

if your computerresources allow it, i would go for option 3).
this way you will have the best possible sound with nebula.
be sure to test the different downsampling options of the izotope src in sample manager.
a lot will be lost in this stage, but you can try to preserve as much as you can, by hearing the different src results.

the nebula src is leaning towards effeciency, because it has to convert all the kernels in a reasonable time.