Login

Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby giancarlo » Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:14 am

RJHollins wrote:The idea presented most definitely is interesting !

Appreciate sharing how this progresses.

One question I'm curious, would be, regarding servers.

Potentially, HOW many 'servers' can be brought online
to work the Nebula 'system'?

Also ... the 're-work' of the Nebula GUI into a vertical
format ... is this possible ??

I could see the expansion of the Acqua VST format
specializing in particular console functions as a
prime function.

Just thinking out loud ... the possibilities are intriguing :)


we are planning a quick development for saving resources when you need the same console on all channels, than we'll contact all host developers at once.
On our side we can offer a complete channel strip, not only a preamp/mixbuss configuration. We can offer also a bus compressor. With a proper saving of resources I'm sure we'll find at least a possible partner. It would be a killer daw.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby dpclarkson » Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:17 pm

Saving resources will have it's price, I presume?
Meaning that sound will not be 100% accurate
as the original libraries?
I'm also interested in setting up pc server-farms to communicate
with a Nebula 64bit server OSX-version.
I read somewhere that pc-server to osx server is
possible.
Question is: which investment would be wise?
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby giancarlo » Tue Mar 15, 2011 1:24 pm

no price, just we save resources among several instances
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9196
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby dpclarkson » Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:01 pm

Ok, that's what you meant.
Well, that will save lots of RAM! :)
So if it will distributed from the same source,
then the cpu-power will be the only issue left, correct?
Would be great if I can insert many, many same instances which will
only use 1x the amount of RAM.
I wouldn't mind in investing in a 32 core server,
if RAM wouldn't be such of an issue.
dpclarkson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2010 9:53 am

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby enriquesilveti » Tue Mar 15, 2011 5:48 pm

we are planning a quick development for saving resources when you need the same console on all channels, than we'll contact all host developers at once.
On our side we can offer a complete channel strip, not only a preamp/mixbuss configuration. We can offer also a bus compressor. With a proper saving of resources I'm sure we'll find at least a possible partner. It would be a killer daw.


We try something smaller under COREII develop/beta test. Now we are near to say CPU/RAM is not more a problem. A DAW with console flavours it's possible.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
UFX | Lyra2 | USBPre2
VM U15 | VM Win10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10 | NIK5
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2663
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby jelmet » Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:37 am

Great thoughts here... keep'em coming!
User avatar
jelmet
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:11 pm
Location: Montreal, QC - Canada

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby jesse.nemitz » Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:56 am

I'm going to start the server with 48gb to 64gb of ram. Pretty much won't be a problem. With 4 Xeon x7560 processors running with 64 threads... I don't suppose there will be a problem running in virtual real time.

I'm going to install a MADI digital interface for all the I/O. Maybe a 2CH D/A if you wanted to output analog but otherwise I'd digital bus it back to another DAW for a bounce.. just like a real console. This thing will be a dream to mix on... SSLE, SSLG, N**e 80, A*I, Old Tube Consoles, VTC 24... Full visual consoles with strips fully preconfigured! Can't wait...
jesse.nemitz
User Level VII
User Level VII
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:35 pm

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby Room Hunters » Wed Mar 23, 2011 3:08 pm

jesse.nemitz wrote:Here's another thing I want to do.. I want to mount and tilt a 52" touch screen LCD on the angle of a typical mixing desk (maybe a little more upright for visibility). I'll be able to touch and interact with the system very much like I would on a console and have all the channel strips stretched out in front of me.


Hi Jesse,

I can't wait to see your performance result with the computer your about tu build. How much will be the latency of a fully featured Console.

If I may suggest three things on the ergonomical side :
1) 52" might be too big (the top side of the console will be very far from you)
2) Real touch sensitive faders, will be more handy, than "screen" faders; ntm only one DAW is featuring multitouch fader ability : http://www.multitrackstudio.com/.
3) Reaper (version 4) will allow a lot more flexibility in the design of your virtual mixing desk than Cubase. You'll be able to make a complete virtual mixing desk with the new GUI engine (Walter). It is very important, because using a touchscreen is very different from using Keyboard+mouse.

We're working on something similar :

Image

http://vimeo.com/20898944

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=76295

Good Luck ! and please tell us you can lower the whole latency of the mixing desk to 5ms !
Virtual Room Miking ?
Room Hunters!
User avatar
Room Hunters
User Level VIII
User Level VIII
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Jul 30, 2010 6:26 pm
Location: Europa

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby Mplay » Wed Mar 23, 2011 4:00 pm

Stop it! You lot are making me jealous :D
Mplay
Member
Member
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: Building a digital console.. with NEBULA

Postby jesse.nemitz » Thu Mar 24, 2011 9:57 am

52 will give enough width to a 1080p resolution to fit enough channel strips to be a competitive option to an aws or N**e genesys.

the unreachable portion of the sceen will be reserved for observational display of information such as a meter bridge.

Reaper DESTROYS cubase as far as customizability; had already anticipated using reaper as the host but I'm glad you mentioned for the discussion. I actually had considered partnering with a daw manufacturer for a customized vst host (similar to openlabs neko and miko host software).

Flying faders are also an absolute must for serious competition so I'm probably looking at customizing a 100mm flying fader solution as part of the console.

Another vertical oriented screen of course, will be absolutely necessary in order to load up nebula in its classic rack interface. Having 1u rack space skikns for each hardware unit will be priority in order to preserve the creative process.

Funny how some people just won't use nebula because its so damn ugly haha. However, there is something beautiful about a well designed gui. CD Soundmaster has already begun paving the way with his vst acqua adaptations of his popular libaries.

Excellent discussions. Will be posting more as the project progresses. I have to say there are 11-15k dell 910 rack servers going on ebay all the time. These are ideal candidates for being a single box solution to power the open format digital console.
jesse.nemitz
User Level VII
User Level VII
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:35 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests