Login

Question about RATE CNV

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Question about RATE CNV

Postby misterambient » Wed Mar 09, 2011 2:10 pm

Hi there I just bought Nebula 3 Pro and some generally recommended third party programs from Alex B, CDSoundmasters and Analoginthebox. It absolutely rocks!!

If I have a fast computer with a lot of RAM, do I still need to change the RATE CNV to 3200 or higher - and does it make any difference if I'd work in 44.1 or 96 kHz? I am asking this, because everything (lots of instances) is loading and running effortlessly, with the stock values on the MAST page.

Also, I cannot seem to find the user manual...

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
misterambient
User Level V
User Level V
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:11 am
Location: The Netherlandz

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby ngarjuna » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:01 pm

ETA: Despite what I say below, I say your best bet is to take the advice and set the RATE CNV to > 3200. There's very little downside.

As long as the conversion is successful at your current RATE CNV you don't have to adjust that parameter. I think the thing to look for is on the PROG page where the original -> target sample rate readouts are. If you see a blinking ( -> ) arrow then the conversion was not successful.

I think the reason 3200 is suggested is because it seems to work well with a variety of different programs at a variety of different sample rates. But I've run into a few programs (those old Lexi91 from nebula-programs I think it was) that 3200 wasn't enough time and I had to increase it for them to make certain conversions (while other SRCs worked ok on those programs at that setting).
User avatar
ngarjuna
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 778
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:04 pm
Location: Miami

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby misterambient » Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:23 pm

Thanks for the explanation! Yes I also see what you mean with the arrow when working in 44.1 kHz, it converts succesfully now. I just registered (it says customer now), and it seems to sound even better after registration, not 100% sure though...

When it didn't convert succesfully from 96 to 44.1 because of low CNV RATE (it had the blinking arrow) the Tape Booster + caused a dip around 12 - 15 kHz. Didn't sound too bad though ;) This dip disappeared after succesful conversion to 44.1 kHz. Strange.

Just read the Wiki and the FAQ, still no user manual though...

Thanks again!
User avatar
misterambient
User Level V
User Level V
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:11 am
Location: The Netherlandz

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby enriquesilveti » Wed Mar 09, 2011 8:03 pm

Wellcome misterambient. Read past AA newsletters you will find some extra information in The Nebula tip of the month.
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby misterambient » Thu Mar 10, 2011 2:20 pm

Thanks, I'll do that!
User avatar
misterambient
User Level V
User Level V
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:11 am
Location: The Netherlandz

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby Cupwise » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:36 pm

i guess now is the time to ask a question i've had, instead of starting a new thread for it. i've had trouble trying to get some of the verbs sampled at 44.1k to upsample to 96k, no matter if i max out the rate cnv setting. i hit reload and they just refuse to convert. is there a solution for this?
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby Mplay » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:38 pm

You could try setting rate_cnv in the xml file, a higher number can be put in this way. (9000000 works for me on some verbs). Doesnt work for all presets here though
Mplay
Member
Member
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:25 am
Location: Willemstad, Curaçao

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby enriquesilveti » Thu Mar 10, 2011 10:02 pm

Tell us which ones and make a full report, we will test it ASAP.

Help us help you (read this before posting)
http://www.acustica-audio.com/forum/ind ... =viewtopic

AA Product:
Version:
OS:
Amount of RAM:
GPU:
Amount of GPU RAM:
Sequencer version:
Audio interface:
Audio interface buffer:
Sequencer buffer:
Extra information:
Enrique Silveti.
Acustica Audio customer and technical support.

MBP 11.5 (i7-4870 | 16 GB | 512 SDD)
SP4 (i5-6300 | 8 GB | 256 SDD)
RME UFX | PS Lyra2 | SD USBPre2
VM U15 | VM W10 | VM OSX 10.12
N4/NAT4 | SPX3 | RX5 | LN2C | Smaart8 | R5 | PT12 | PX10
User avatar
enriquesilveti
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2662
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 9:00 pm
Location: Lodi | Madrid | Buenos Aires

Re: Question about RATE CNV

Postby Cupwise » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:33 pm

well, there are a lot of verbs in there and it would take quite some time for me to go through all of them seeing which load and which don't. it actually seems though that a lot of them don't, so it wouldn't take much time to find ones that don't. i might get around to finding some specific examples but i'm kind of busy lately. it's not really a huge issue for me as i don't use the verbs too often. plus i might try mplay's suggestion, although he says it doesn't always work.
Cupwise
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:03 am


Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BCz and 7 guests