Login

Links to nebula server free PC VERSION and MAC OSX (updated)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby himhui » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:35 pm

Tried the localserver, it looks good!!
Presets loading very fast!
Attachments
Snap3.png
Snap3.png (143.59 KiB) Viewed 717 times
Last edited by himhui on Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby Vando » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:00 pm

Hey, how did you do this local server /server thing?
I'm only able to get it work in my master computer.
It's installed in my slave too, but I don't know how to make the connection.
Vando
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:16 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby Vando » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:23 pm

Looks like the Mode is always Simple when opening a new instance. Should it be Guru or is Guru just to see if the Server is on?
Vando
User Level XI
User Level XI
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 9:16 am
Location: Helsinki, Finland

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby himhui » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:26 pm

I fill the ip address of B computer(server) to neb3 xml file of A computer which runs the daw... and fill the ip address of A computer to the server xml of B computer ..

My daw's loading get heavier (47%) with the same project when using the server (18% cpu of the i5 M520)
Attachments
snap5.png
snap5.png (248.77 KiB) Viewed 685 times
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby himhui » Wed Mar 09, 2011 6:38 pm

If only with neb3free..
Attachments
Snap6.png
Snap6.png (85.41 KiB) Viewed 680 times
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby TranscendingMusic » Wed Mar 09, 2011 7:26 pm

himhui wrote:I fill the ip address of B computer(server) to neb3 xml file of A computer which runs the daw... and fill the ip address of A computer to the server xml of B computer ..

My daw's loading get heavier (47%) with the same project when using the server (18% cpu of the i5 M520)


Interesting, same issue as with Sonar 8.5.3 x64
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby Sparqee » Wed Mar 09, 2011 10:26 pm

Sparqee wrote:I understand the advantages of running a remote server (distributing CPU load between two machines) but I'm unclear on the advantages of running a local server. Is the local Nebula "pipe" server more efficient that running Nebula as a VST plugin from within the DAW host app?



Ok, so the advantage of the local server is that if I'm running a 32bit DAW under a 64bit OS I can use Nebula Local server to access a larger amount of RAM than the 32bit DAW can. Got it.
Sparqee
User Level I
User Level I
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:05 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby himhui » Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:39 am

locacl server and Server together...

It's not that bad!!
Attachments
Snap7.jpg
Snap7.jpg (107.83 KiB) Viewed 612 times
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby himhui » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:29 am

Can't reload presets when reopen project if memory loading over 4G....
I think that 32bit daw still couldn't go beyond the 4G ram limit in x64 OS......
97v4 /Win7 x64 /64G ram /Nvidia Quadro K620
Reaper 5.28 /X-Touch
Prism Orpheus /RME Babyface Pro
User avatar
himhui
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1072
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:04 pm

Re: Links to nebula server and localserver free PC VERSION

Postby giancarlo » Thu Mar 10, 2011 6:49 am

himhui wrote:Can't reload presets when reopen project if memory loading over 4G....
I think that 32bit daw still couldn't go beyond the 4G ram limit in x64 OS......


correct. It happens for localserver and not for remote servers too. If you run out the 32 bits memory space your 32 bits daw can't work any more.


Anyway you are using way more ram than before. I remember the worst case: 1.2 gigabytes and the best case, around 2 gigabytes (even enabling the 3gigabytes switch).
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9166
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests