Login

Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Tips & tricks, working results, technical support

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby lordnielson » Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:24 am

Using ES2 which is supposed to be a 5.1 instrument here's what I've done so far.

In I/O assignments
set L+R to 3+4.
Set Ls+Rs to 5+6.

Create Aux (bus). Chose as inputs 3+4.
Create Aux (bus). Chose as inputs 5+6.

I'm getting "something" this way though I can't really verify that it's what you need as I don't have any instrument nor compressor that works of quadro. Logic has always had it's own internal sidechain so none of this has really been necessary.
lordnielson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby giancarlo » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:38 am

contact me!
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby lordnielson » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:45 pm

Should we continue the discussion here Giancarlo ? What I'm thinking is that there may be other logic users who might chime in with useful information.

How does the "configuration window" work in cubase ie. groups a,b,c ?
lordnielson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby giancarlo » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:47 pm

ok, mplay is converting all compressors to sidechain versions for you.
Here a little preview of nebula sidechain I used for mixing a dance song. The song is 98% ni massive and nebula
Attachments
snap_b.wav
(4.5 MiB) Downloaded 93 times
snap_a.wav
(5.59 MiB) Downloaded 100 times
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby giancarlo » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:50 pm

@lord: all other sequencers are ok. I'm trying to make "logic"al to logic users too, because au is a mess as usually.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby lordnielson » Sun Mar 06, 2011 10:57 pm

I know Giancarlo. What I'm asking is about the "Configuration" menu on the plugin. How do you configure it in Cubase?
L+R =A
Ls+Rs=B ??

I'm trying to figure out how the Nebula Sidechain plugin functions because Logic doesn't want to play ball with it at all. :ugeek:
lordnielson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby giancarlo » Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:04 pm

it's the same as reaper, and even reaper AU is working. You have 4 channels, first 2 are your audio, the other 2 are the sidechain control signal.

In vst world you just add a quadro channel and that's all (quadro is a speaker configuration type coming from specifications). Cubendo loves it.

In au world there are 2 possible solutions. The first one is the actual one, you have a 4 ins - 2 outs on a single bus. It works more or less like the vst version, reaper works flawlessly.

A better solution would be creating 2 stereo busses (they call them "elements"), each one with 2 ins and 2 outs. Anyway I have troubles calling the rendering function, I asked on kvr audio forum too. The worst case it that logic users will wait till I find a solution.
User avatar
giancarlo
Founder
Founder
 
Posts: 9210
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:40 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby lordnielson » Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:27 pm

I've done what you describe and logic just sends everything thru the plugin and out again. The sidechain signal gets send to the master channel and doesn't really seem to affect the none-sidechain signal.

I fear that you may need to figure out how logics internal sidechain works. I see it being used by Stillwell, Ddmf, Psp, Voxengo etc so maybe it's not too complicated.

I'll try some more.
lordnielson
Member
Member
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2010 6:29 pm
Location: Copenhagen

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby paulrussell » Mon Mar 07, 2011 4:18 am

has anyone tested this in Sonar X1 or 8.5.3?
User avatar
paulrussell
User Level IV
User Level IV
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2010 10:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Sidechain to everyone and for free (we are completely crazy)

Postby TranscendingMusic » Mon Mar 07, 2011 5:33 am

paulrussell wrote:has anyone tested this in Sonar X1 or 8.5.3?


I don't know about X1, I don't use it, but in general Sonar never really improved on side-chaining and more elusive ways of routing. I don't believe this is possible in 8.5.3. Not 100% though.
mixing | mastering
Win 10 x64 | Sonar Platinum x64 | 3930K(OC)
User avatar
TranscendingMusic
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 1132
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2010 7:01 am
Location: USA

PreviousNext

Return to Working with Nebula

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests